• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Mark H
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 7, 2007 6:31:40 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

This has been mentioned in past (dead) posts but with no comments or solution.


In the admin>catalog>products page, the products are sorted by product name. I am desperate to sort the products by SKU as literally everything we do is based on sku.



Is this something that can be modified by changing the sql procedures? If so what procedure?

Is there anyone who may have tips, suggestions, or that I can hire out to do the customization?



Thanks!
birdsafe
#2 Posted : Friday, June 8, 2007 8:40:00 AM(UTC)
birdsafe

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,113

I've seen where stores have used the SKU as the initial part of the Product Name itself and then that would sort in the manner you wish.
bvuser
#3 Posted : Friday, June 8, 2007 9:00:27 AM(UTC)
bvuser

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 462

Can definitely be done, have not looked into the complexity of doing it yet, but give me a day or so to review and shoot me an e-mail at info [at] caplinkbdc [dot] com.
Netriplex Corporation<br />
Mark H
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2007 2:41:45 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

Well, as of this point it looks like changing the sort order requres a change of the BV core. Any additional feedback would be appreciated.
CorneliuTusnea
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2007 7:44:10 PM(UTC)
CorneliuTusnea

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC)
Posts: 681

Mark,

Modify the [bvc_Product_ByCriteria_s] SP and change in line 61 and 62 from ProductName to SKU.
IF @SortBy = 0
BEGIN
WITH cte_Product AS
(SELECT
RowNum =
CASE
WHEN @SortOrder = 0 THEN ROW_NUMBER() OVER (ORDER BY SKU ASC)
WHEN @SortOrder = 1 THEN ROW_NUMBER() OVER (ORDER BY SKU DESC)
END,
....

Corneliu.
PS>> I haven't tested it :)
http://www.bestgames.com.au
http://www.bestchess.com.au



BV Product Links, Details and Signatures: Improve your customer experience:

http://www.acorns.com.au/projects/bv/quicklink/

bvuser
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2007 8:33:11 PM(UTC)
bvuser

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 462

Hi Corneliu,

I was under the impression he is looking to change the sort in the admin catalog page not to change the sort order every place the products are sorted by name. The bv admin catalog page relies on the ProductSearchCriteria class which contains a SortBy property of type ProductSearchCriteriaSortBy which is an enum. Both classes are located in the core and the ProductSearchCriteria class is what actually loads the stored procedure parameters into the database request.

The way I'd keep the existing functionality and adding a sort by sku would be to add an additional enum value to the core specifying a sort by sku and updating the stored procedure with an additional if branch to support the additional sort type. A fairly simple task for bv software to incorporate in sp3 or even with a core hot fix.
Netriplex Corporation<br />
Mark H
#7 Posted : Monday, June 25, 2007 6:39:09 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

BVuser is correct. We already have the functionality to sort products manually under each catagory. The only place products can't be sorted is in the admin side, thus my post. Thanks!
blueacorn
#8 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2007 9:06:12 AM(UTC)
blueacorn

Rank: Member

Joined: 6/27/2007(UTC)
Posts: 63

So, what's the current status on this - did anyone actually develop a solution for this? It's on my list of modifications to make - granted, not at the top - so if noone else has done it yet I'll be taking a look at it eventually
bvuser
#9 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2007 11:25:08 AM(UTC)
bvuser

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 462

Hi Blue,

The modification is relatively easy to make if you want to modify the core. We have decided to hold off and see if this is updated into SP3 before making such a change. And even then it would be on a site by site basis as we always prefer to work off the official core.
Netriplex Corporation<br />
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012