• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

5 Pages<<<2345>
Coleen
#61 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2007 2:46:50 PM(UTC)
Coleen

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/30/2007(UTC)
Posts: 383

So what is actually the best way of doing this? It seems just adding https: to the default.master is simpler than creating a checkout.master page, but is there a downside I'm not seeing?
Coleen
#62 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2007 3:30:11 PM(UTC)
Coleen

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/30/2007(UTC)
Posts: 383

Coming back to this one for clarify for all new users:

If you DO have product.master, service.master, cart.master you need to add the <script src="http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js" type="text/javascript">
</script><script type="text/javascript">_uacct = "yours here";urchinTracker();</script>

to each of those master pages correct? Serivce, popup etc? Should the cart.master be https?

The instructions are kind of spread out over three pages and 1 year making it a little tough to get clarity.
Thanks
Cliff
#63 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2007 6:13:39 PM(UTC)
Cliff

Rank: Member

Joined: 5/24/2004(UTC)
Posts: 4,147

Account and Checkout should be https. The rest can be standard HTTP, including Cart, since it isn't a secure page. Even Popup, if you care to see if people are viewing your popup pages.
Jezreel
#64 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2007 5:20:48 AM(UTC)
Jezreel

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2007(UTC)
Posts: 22

Hello.


I appreciate the help regarding adwords. However, after trying to follow the directions, I am still have difficulties. Could someone update this thread with a bit more detail and create an up-to-date BV5 directive? Also, I think it will help newbs like myself to find all of the guidelines contained in one message.



Thank you,



Chris
Coleen
#65 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2007 11:06:55 AM(UTC)
Coleen

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/30/2007(UTC)
Posts: 383

Chris I'd add the information myself but don't feel qualified. Marcus or one of the team should create a new update for SP3...or at least an update that has all the directions in the first post and not scattered over 3 pages/months.

I think mine is working fine, but I won't know until we start with adwords Monday.
scott.mech
#66 Posted : Saturday, January 12, 2008 12:23:55 PM(UTC)
scott.mech

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/4/2004(UTC)
Posts: 670

We have developed an add-in solution for BVC5 that properly populates Google Adwords, Google Analytics, Yahoo Search Marketing Analytics (both conversion only and full), numerous CSE trackers, and more. Contact me directly for details.

Scott Mech
[email protected]
Rich
#67 Posted : Sunday, March 23, 2008 7:29:16 PM(UTC)
Rich

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/1/2004(UTC)
Posts: 145

It looks like Google has some new tracking code on there site now. Will the new code work with BVC5 in it current state?



Thanks

Rich
avmwebguy
#68 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2008 9:50:13 AM(UTC)
avmwebguy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/24/2008(UTC)
Posts: 60

Google Analytics - How do I add tracking code to my website?

https://www.google.com/support/analytics/bin/answer.py?answer=55480&ctx=sibling
- Brian

Web Developer/IT Manager
avmwebguy
#69 Posted : Wednesday, March 26, 2008 8:11:44 AM(UTC)
avmwebguy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/24/2008(UTC)
Posts: 60

I got the new Analytics code working on my site.


I'll try to rewrite this guide to explain exactly what to do step by step from the beginning to get Analytics on your site. Credit goes to this thread and Google's site. All I did was re-write some code.



1. Download the following files (Right Click and Save As), then continue to my next post:
File Attachment(s):
GoogleAnalyticsReceipt.ascx (1kb) downloaded 317 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
- Brian

Web Developer/IT Manager
avmwebguy
#70 Posted : Wednesday, March 26, 2008 8:11:56 AM(UTC)
avmwebguy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/24/2008(UTC)
Posts: 60

Please read each step entirely before actually doing it.

Please make backups of all files before you modify them in case something goes wrong and you want to abort this.


2. Save those files (GoogleAnalyticsReceipt.ascx and GoogleAnalytics.ascx.vb from my previous post) to BVModules\Controls

3. Open all of your master pages (.master files), in your Theme folder. That is BVModules\Themes\[THEMENAMEHERE]\

4. Add the following javascript to all of the master pages' source above the </body> tag - EXCEPT Checkout.Master - Make sure to replace UA-xxxxxx-x with your Analytics ID Code.
Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>

<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-x");
pageTracker._initData();
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>


Note: This new script will handle HTTP and HTTPS properly, you can use the same script on every page.


5. Make sure you didn't add anything to Checkout.Master yet. . . If you don't have a Checkout.Master in your BVModules\Themes\[THEMENAMEHERE]\ folder, copy Default.Master from Visual Studio, then paste it (into the same folder) and rename the copy to Checkout.Master. You need to make some modifications to make it work correctly, read on:

Change <body> to <body id="CheckoutPage">


6. In Checkout.Master, add the above Javascript code under your <body> tag. This code *must* appear above the rest of the javascript, which we'll get to in a minute. As long as you add it directly to the line under the <body> tag, it should appear above the rest of the script and work properly.

7. Edit the receipt.aspx page and add this line at the top under the line <%@ Register Src="BVModules/Controls/ViewOrder.ascx" TagName="ViewOrder" TagPrefix="uc1" %>:

Code:

<%@ Register Src="BVModules/Controls/GoogleAnalyticsReceipt.ascx" TagName="GoogleAnalyticsReceipt"
TagPrefix="uc2" %>


8. Edit Receipt.aspx again

replace:
Code:

</asp:content>


with:
Code:

<uc2:GoogleAnalyticsReceipt ID="GoogleAnalyticsReceipt1" runat="server" />
</asp:Content>


9. Open Receipt.aspx.vb

10. Put the following code on the line directly after Me.ViewOrder1.LoadOrder() in the LoadOrder Sub.

Code:

Me.GoogleAnalyticsReceipt1.RenderGoogleReceipt(o)



11. Save all of your files.

12. Build your Website

13. Test it - Add several products to your cart, then check out and "pay" for it.

14. On the page after check out, View Source (from your browser). Search for pageTracker._addTrans. Make sure it is BELOW this script (somewhere below it on the page):

Code:

<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-x");
pageTracker._initData();
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>




You should now start seeing Google Analytics within 24 hours or so.


Important Notes: This guide is assuming that you haven't added Google Analytics to your site in the past. If you have added Analytics to your site before (old script), you will need to remove all traces of the old script to make this new version work. If you aren't sure or can't remember which one you are using, if any. . . Look at this website: Google Analytics - Which version of the tracking code am I using?

This guide also assumes that you haven't modified your BVC code. If you have made changes to the way the store functions, you need to make the appropriate changes to my code yourself.

Make sure you do not have the old script and the new script on your pages. This will cause problems with Google.

Make sure you are using the files from my previous post and not the other files on this thread. I have re-written the code in GoogleAnalyticsReceipt.ascx.vb to work with Google's New Analytics Scripts.





For More Information, check out the following links:



Note: Links are subject to change anytime.



I take no credit for this guide, except the minor changes to other people's code.
- Brian

Web Developer/IT Manager
avmwebguy
#71 Posted : Wednesday, March 26, 2008 8:54:55 AM(UTC)
avmwebguy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/24/2008(UTC)
Posts: 60

*Reserved*
- Brian

Web Developer/IT Manager
richtheo
#72 Posted : Wednesday, April 9, 2008 6:50:36 AM(UTC)
richtheo

Rank: Member

Joined: 7/17/2007(UTC)
Posts: 24

Hi Brian,

Congratulations on your post about integrating the new ga.js version of analytics onto BVC5. I followed the instructions yesterday and have successfully got analytics reports visible in google today.

For some reason the initial google analytics verification failed to recognise the analytics code in the site. So initially one is a bit worried that it hasn't worked. But quite quickly (next day) data appears in the analytics reports.
My version is BVC5 SP2.

PLEASE NOTE:
After a couple of days i realised that it wasn't tracking the performance of adwords campaigns. I spoke to Google who reviewed the site and said that something was interfering with analytics. They told me to move the analytics code into the HEAD after all the meta tags. They said this isn't the normal advice but that it often sorts out this kind of problem. So i did this by editing all the MASTER files in my theme. This got it working.

Also, Google pointed out that with your Adwords campaigns the landing page URL must be an exact actual URL and not a rewritten or redirected page. Google Adwords appends a parameter to the landing page jump link and if its rewritten or redirected, then the parameter is lost before analytics can record it and then the google adword can't be connected to the visit and transaction.

Thanks
Richard
http://www.beauty2u.com
Stealthauto
#73 Posted : Tuesday, April 22, 2008 1:14:48 AM(UTC)
Stealthauto

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/6/2006(UTC)
Posts: 52

Hey all-

I am a bit new at this but I am still a bit confused about how much converion tracking in google is supposed to tell me. Is there a way for it to tell me WHICH order came from google? And, most importantly, is there a way for it to report the value of the order? As of right now, i cannot see any conversions in the Ecommerce tab, and I need to get this done ASAP.

Any help will be GREATLY appreciated!

-Todd

StealthAuto.com
avmwebguy
#74 Posted : Thursday, May 1, 2008 8:49:40 AM(UTC)
avmwebguy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/24/2008(UTC)
Posts: 60

Conversion Tracking is based off of a set of goals that you create for your website on the google analytics/adwords page.


I'm currently using Conversion Tracking to see our return on Advertising with Google via adwords. It will only count as a conversion if someone did a google search, then clicked our Ad, and then actually purchased an item from our store.


It can be set up to do all sorts of neat tracking.

If you want to know more, I suggest reading the following page and going through the videos and other helpful pages provided by google:
https://adwords.google.c...nswer=86269&hl=en_US
- Brian

Web Developer/IT Manager
epborden
#75 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2008 8:12:41 AM(UTC)
epborden

Rank: Member

Joined: 5/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1

On our website, we do not have a Checkout.Master file. I've searched for it all over the server to no avail. Is it entirely important to have this file and put the code in this file?
We use BVC5, and it looks like we have all the other files mentioned that need to be modified and have made the changes.
jasolution
#76 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2008 1:49:45 PM(UTC)
jasolution

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/14/2008(UTC)
Posts: 18

Hi, Brian,

I do have C# installed as that is the primary language we develop in at our shop.

Jason
avmwebguy
#77 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2008 2:04:33 PM(UTC)
avmwebguy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/24/2008(UTC)
Posts: 60

Man I totally missed that. I'm using a non-Standard BVC5 theme. The ootb themes don't seem to have a checkout.master by default. Thanks for the find.

Its *not* absolutely necessary to use a Checkout.master file, but it does help a lot. If you didn't use one, you'd have to modify each and every one of our checkout pages (every time you need to update the script too).

BVC5 is setup to automatically use a Checkout.Master file if it exists in the theme folder, so all we need to do is create a new one, and it'll work.


I have modified my walkthrough post to show how to add the checkout.master file correctly.

Check out step 5 again if you don't have a checkout.master file in your theme folder.
- Brian

Web Developer/IT Manager
avmwebguy
#78 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2008 1:36:54 PM(UTC)
avmwebguy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/24/2008(UTC)
Posts: 60

I'm not sure then. . . I had the same problem happen to me and finally realized that I hadn't installed C# (since I never use it), so VS2008 wouldn't recognize it as a valid project file.

Wish I could be more helpful.
- Brian

Web Developer/IT Manager
Cylosoft
#79 Posted : Thursday, August 21, 2008 3:39:13 PM(UTC)
Cylosoft

Rank: Member

Joined: 6/13/2004(UTC)
Posts: 91

Thanks: 1 times
Excellent write up. Thanks Brian S.

I ended up doing everything except I put the Google tracking code in the header of all masters and I didn't make or use a Checkout.master. It appears to be working great.
Marcus
#80 Posted : Monday, August 25, 2008 3:01:40 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

I've included Google Analytics Tracking, Google Adwords Tracking, Google Conversion Tracking and Yahoo! conversion tracking in service pack 5.4 which is available in beta right now.
5 Pages<<<2345>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2025 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012