• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

smartdom
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 19, 2006 9:17:01 AM(UTC)
smartdom

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/15/2006(UTC)
Posts: 52

Hi,

Is there any documentation, tips, etc, especially for developers, that explains how I make a workflow and utilise it?

I'm particularly interested in creating a product pricing workflow.

Thanks.
Marcus
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 19, 2006 2:30:29 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Dom,

1) From the admin->Options->Workflows screen select "New Workflow"

2) Add in the steps you'd like to use

3) In your code create a context for the workflow and then run it.

Code:


Dim c As New BusinessRules.ProductTaskContext
c.UserId = SessionManager.GetCurrentUserId
c.Product = Catalog.Product.FindByBvin("abc123")

Dim result as boolean = false
result = BusinessRules.Workflow.RunByName(CType(c, BusinessRules.TaskContext), "My Custom Workflow Name")

CorneliuTusnea
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 19, 2006 8:18:52 PM(UTC)
CorneliuTusnea

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC)
Posts: 681

Marcus,
Small Issue: Talking about workflows, can you guys please make sure in the next release to use Workflows consistently?
Right now the code is running different system workflows either by name or by BVIN and this makes it quite hard to understand & modify the code :)

Thanks,
Corneliu.
http://www.bestgames.com.au
http://www.bestchess.com.au



BV Product Links, Details and Signatures: Improve your customer experience:

http://www.acorns.com.au/projects/bv/quicklink/

Andy Miller
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 19, 2006 8:19:02 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Here is a short article I wrote that shows how to create a custom workflow task.


http://structured-solutions.net/Coding/BVCommerce5/Bvc5UpdateOrderStatus
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
Marcus
#5 Posted : Sunday, November 19, 2006 9:01:47 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Corneliu,

We use bvin as often as possible because it is faster. When you run a workflow by name we have to make an extra call to resolve the name to a bvin.
smartdom
#6 Posted : Monday, November 20, 2006 8:16:31 AM(UTC)
smartdom

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/15/2006(UTC)
Posts: 52

Marcus,

Thanks for your help. And Andy too!

I take that I "plug in" in my product or order task by placing the code in "App_Code" folder? My code there overrides similar classes in the core? I'm just trying to picture and understand the plug in effect.

Thanks.
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012