BV Commerce Forum
»
BV Commerce Support
»
General Support
»
Shipping - Is there a way to set a fixed figure when Fed Ex doesn't return a rate?
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,737
|
I received an order for a large, heavy item with $0.00 shipping. Fed Ex failed to return a rate. Even the 'Extra Ship Fee' from the product edit page wasn't applied.
Is there a way to set a fixed figure when Fed Ex doesn't return a rate - a last resort fee or best guess?
Andy, I've got your Shipping Rate Suite but haven't gotten to fiddle with it yet. Is there a way to do this without having a bunch of shipping choices show up on the checkout page? I'd like to stick with Fed Ex Ground only. |
Optimists invent airplanes, Pessimists buy parachutes. |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC) Posts: 2,136
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
Mitch,
That's an interesting scenario. Assuming you already of the FedEx Ground shipping method defined, try this:
1. Create a new shipping method (using either Package Rules or Order Rules) called FedEx Ground. 2. Change the default shipping cost rule to use the existing FedEx shipping method that you defined. 3. Add a new shipping cost rule like "If Rate From FedEx = 0, Cost = XXX", where XXX is the rate you would like to charge when FedEx fails to return a rate. 4. Change the old FedEx shipping method settings so it is not visible by itself.
If you have trouble setting this up or testing it, please let me know at support at structured-solutions dot net. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
Mitch,
From what I've fooled with Andy's program, all you need to do is set Fedex in a "wrapped" shipping method and play with setting a value that if the shipping amount that is returned by FedEx is below X.XX then a fixed amount would kick in. I have found that FE ground will have problems if you have a large volume. Plus sometimes if the customer uses a 9 digit zip (XXXXX-XXXX) sometimes Home Delvery won't show up. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,737
|
Joe - you found the cause... Zip + 4. Both orders in the last month had zip + 4 entered. Now to get that fixed. Bug post!
Andy, I've got some items that will send singly for $6-$8.00 and 20 for not much more - They're furniture parts that are like a small sheet of cardboard. I'm not worried about loosing a few dollars on these. I need to make sure that the $45.00 fee to CA isn't dropped off of the invoice.
Can I assign a minimum shipping fee of say $35.00 for some products without also charging $35.00 for an item that should cost $8.00?
Can you: "If Rate From FedEx = 0, AND weight is > 25lbs, Cost = XXX else cost = xxx"
I know that's a lot... Gawd, Fortran just flashed in my head. |
Optimists invent airplanes, Pessimists buy parachutes. |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC) Posts: 2,136
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
Mitch, Yes you can...almost exactly like you wrote it, just use 2 rules instead of "else". For example,
If rate from FedEx = 0 and weight > 25, Cost = XXX If rate from FedEx = 0, Cost = YYYY
The rules are evaluated in order, and it stops when a match is found. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
Mitch,
Everett is looking into a way to strip the dash out of the zip+4 before it's validated. I imagine they will post a fix here when they do. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,737
|
That'll help, but I'm still going to set up Andy's Rate Provider with a fall-back for when Fed Ex is down....
I need a day to just sit and learn to use a new tool.... |
Optimists invent airplanes, Pessimists buy parachutes. |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 7/12/2007(UTC) Posts: 19
|
Hello,
We had the same problem and made our own zip code validator on the checkout.aspx page. This validator checks three countries we currently are shipping to.
<bvc5:BVRegularExpressionValidator ID="ShippingvalPostalCode2" ForeColor=" " CssClass="errormessage" runat="server" ControlToValidate="ShippingpostalCodeField" Display="Dynamic" ErrorMessage="Please enter a valid postal code. For the United States, please enter the 5 digit (eg:12345) postal code. For Canada please enter the 6 digit (eg: A1B2C3) code with no dash or space. For Australia include the state or territory abbreviation, the required space (either one or two), and a four-digit number (eg:VIC 3163)" ValidationExpression="^\d{5}|[A-Z]\d[A-Z]\d[A-Z]\d|(ACT|NSW|NT|QLD|SA|TAS|VIC|WA)( | )[0-9]{4}$"> </bvc5:BVRegularExpressionValidator>
If you want just the us use this instead ValidationExpression="^\d{5}$">
Hope this helps
Brad
|
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.