Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
The zip code field needs to be validated somehow. Had a customer enter "USA" in the box tonight and it allowed the order to go through without adding shipping (since the carriers could not read the zip). This field should at least be validated to a numerical value. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/25/2006(UTC) Posts: 111
|
Needs to be alpha numeric. Most european zip codes are numbers and letters. Australia has 4 numbers. Ireland does not have a national postal code system. Dublin uses one number an one letter. I think I had to mail an order to Ireland with no zipcode. Hard to validate. I would think the best you can do is validate for a US address (5 digit/ 8 digit alpha) and allow anything or nothing for a non US address. Bob
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 6/6/2005(UTC) Posts: 483
|
Cant validate to Numerical value. Canada uses Alpha and numerical and totals to 6 char.
Bob Noble
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
I guess the trick then is to prevent orders from going through that do not have a valid shipping method. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 4/4/2004(UTC) Posts: 670
|
there is no reason why the validation cannot be specific to the country chosen.
Scott Mech
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/24/2005(UTC) Posts: 311
|
You would rather not take the order from the customer and handle it via phone call and lose the potential customer because they get frustrated by not being able to complete their order?
Thats what I like about BV they allow and order to be placed even if there is a problem and we just handle it on the backend. Even if it takes us a little bit extra time to handle that particular customer we still got the sale.
I even think Marcus mentioned that as a benefit way back when too when discussions like this were raised with BV2004. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
It is true that we try and make it as easy for a user to place an order as possible. This is why we encourage things such as allowing an order to go through, even when a credit card fails. This allows the merchant to connect with the user to complete the sale. This sale would otherwise likely be lost. On the other hand though, some merchants (especially those with very high volumes) are more concerned with getting correct orders in the door. With that being said, we will evaluate adding a feature that would allow the administrator to validate the zip based on the country. This would however be optional. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
Justin -- thank you, and I appreciate what you are saying. One of the issues here is with debit cards -- if it is "declined" it still shows up on the customer's online statement and the funds are held back by the bank for a number of days -- so if the store allows it to go through, the customer assumes it was okay and then you have an argument on your hands because they say "my online statement says you charged me." I can't tell you the number of times I've been contacted saying I charged them twice -- only the first one was a decline because they didn't enter the correct billing address.
So, yes, I can see letting any order go through, but the customer needs to be flagged that the order is "UNPAID -- PLEASE CONTACT THE STORE TO ARRANGE FOR PAYMENT" -- or similar. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/24/2005(UTC) Posts: 311
|
I think thats how it works now. Every order we get that is faulty in some way is marked as UnPaid and we just update the confirmation page with some blinking red text to show the customer that it is marked unpaid. Also, the Email's sent to them should state the status of the order as well. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC) Posts: 2,136
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
I include some free postal code database support with my shipping rate providers. The article, " Postal Code Validator for BVC5" describes one way to use the data to validate US postal codes. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC) Posts: 681
|
Why don't you simply add a RegEx string to the Country that represents the format for the PostCode. the regex can then be very simply tailored for each country and all situations plus it's very easy to write a RegEx validator that is refreshed when the country is changed? This would be both simple and very efficient. Regards, Corneliu. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/8/2007(UTC) Posts: 298
|
So by default if the Customers Credit Card is declined. The Order still is processed? Is that any inication to the customer during checkout that the card failed?
Other than it being markd as unpaid, how do we as a merchant know it it is unpaid. Do the e-mails reflect if the CC was declined? Also does the e-mail to the customer indicate that the CC was declined or that the order is unpaid?
Thanks |
Dan |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/24/2005(UTC) Posts: 311
|
Dan I would recommend you do a test order with a bad CC to get most of your answers but, yes there is text indicating that an order is not paid and that is waiting for the Merchant (you) to process the order. On the administration side you get a clear indication by going to the orders section and seeing the status of each order in a list. Ones that are problem childs are seen quite easily.
What it boils down to though is you still got the order the customer has confirmation that an order has been placed but, there was some problems with it and you have to do a little leg work to correct the problem. I think this is way better then telling the customer outright that the order failed and to try again. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
Dan -- under Options you can set it to reject and not let orders go through. That's what I do -- when you start getting a higher volume of orders, it simply is too much work to have to contact customers to get their cc numbers -- most of the time the don't respond to you at all anyway. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 7/12/2007(UTC) Posts: 19
|
Hi Corneliu,
Is there any way to post in here how you would make the regex validator refresh based on the country?
Thanks, Brad
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
SP3 will have zip code validation based on regular expressions. It will be out in a few weeks. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.