Rank: Member
Joined: 6/26/2006(UTC) Posts: 351
|
1. When entering a search term and clicking Search from the front page, no results show until you hit the Search button on the search page. It used to show results right away.
2. Search is showing Inactive products that I don't want customers to see. :) |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 10/29/2007(UTC) Posts: 33
|
I just ran into this same issue on a site I wanted to release today. The more steps for a customer the more likely you are to lose them. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 10/29/2007(UTC) Posts: 33
|
Does anyone know which stored proc is used for the search? |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 5/24/2004(UTC) Posts: 4,147
|
Ouch, I'm seeing the same thing here. Looks like SP3 broke search. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
bvc_Product_StoreSearch_s
|
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
Some typos in that procedure. The comment ones don't matter, but the manufacturer one in the join does. Code: [color=#0000ff]ELSE[/color][color=#0000ff]IF[/color][color=#808080]=[/color][color=#008000]--Sortying by vendor, so we need to JOIN[/color]
[color=#ff0000>cte_ProductResult.ManufactuerId]r[/color]erId </FONT> |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 10/29/2007(UTC) Posts: 33
|
Thanks Chris. Added to where clause status <> 0 for #2 by Angela. Fixed the inactive issue. Might not be the best approach, but it did work. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 10/29/2007(UTC) Posts: 33
|
Thanks Chris.
Fixed "Manufacturer" too. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
Found it: Change the line: Code: [color=#0000ff] SET[/color][color=#000000] @WhereClause [/color][color=#808080]=[/color][color=#000000] [/color][color=#ff0000]' WHERE bvc_Product.ParentID = '''' ' [/color]
To this: Code: [color=#0000ff] SET[/color][color=#000000] @WhereClause [/color][color=#808080]=[/color][color=#000000] [/color][color=#ff0000]' WHERE bvc_Product.Status=N''1'' AND bvc_Product.ParentID = '''' ' [/color]
|
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
My fix will only return active products. The field can contain: Code: [color=#0000ff]End[/color][color=#0000ff]Enum [/color]
I don't know how to have one set to "NotSet". Your fix works also, but I prefer a more definite parameter and I hadn't seen your response. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 10/29/2007(UTC) Posts: 33
|
Thanks Chris,
I've seen your posts...Your better than I at this. I used yours. :-) |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
I appreciate the comment. I haven't gotten a fix for the original issue #1.
P.S. Also so much easier to find things than SF. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 10/29/2007(UTC) Posts: 33
|
I am really happy to be switching (even with SP3 Bugs) from SF actually. And yes much easier. Even with SF 7.0, still so many things not included. ONe other thing I didn't see and maybe someone has a fix already.
On the Search if the row count is Zero how are you handling. Are you placing a label on the page and changing visibility, or putting a value in the Datalist? |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
Probably easier to just fill in the admin page correctly. I'll leave that one up to BV to fix, if they really need to. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 10/29/2007(UTC) Posts: 33
|
No, I mean if no products are returned from the search, I don't see BV handling with a message to the user that "No Products Returned". Am I missing something? |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/15/2007(UTC) Posts: 126
|
I have run into the same issue myself. The keywords are not being inserted in the keyword.text.trim field upon postback. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 4/30/2007(UTC) Posts: 383
|
So does this relate to our notes from Friday that actual searches are useless? If I type in specific shirt a I get all 100 shirts in no particular order.
Also BV, when are we going to have a useful search that executes on the first page? Right now people have to click 2 times and since the Friday upgrade we're getting a 75% increase in bounce rate from searchers. They aren't following through as they think the search is broken.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 4/30/2007(UTC) Posts: 383
|
Angela that was me on your site a few seconds ago. Your site is suffering from the same malady as ours. I went to your maya wrap lightly padded product page, then entered it in the search terms. It's not found anywhere within eyeshot as it lists every single product.
BV I don't think we can all stress enough this is a critical bug that needs to be fixed. Although I think most of us are happy with SP3 the testing couldn't have been very thorough as this is basic stuff. Please get a fix out today as it's likely just a matter of keywords not being inserted as Brendon indicates.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 6/26/2006(UTC) Posts: 351
|
Yeah, its pretty important. My sales are way down and Monday mornings I usually wake up to a nice number of sales, today only 2.
Between search and the categories not showing much, its hard to find things on my site. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 4/30/2007(UTC) Posts: 383
|
Angela, ditto. Our third wammy was reading Brendon's post about the plugins not working. So essentially we're dead in the water too. I would have participated more in the beta program if there were clear directions on what was expected and when. After the first category not appearing issue we didn't know if it would be days, hours, weeks before the fix and couldn't take a chance. Yes I played some on an offline box, but who has the time to thoroughly test everything?
The plugins thing I can see getting missed, the basic functionality issues, I think BV can do better. The search was supposed to be an area of improvement, I'm not sure how this slipped through.
1. Search needs to be fixed, we're all losing sales, our bounce rate off the search page is now almost 100%. 2. Plugins permissions...need that back. 3. Are you sure your category issue isn't related to your menu?
Have you submitted a ticket? Nothing on these threads about fixes in process, last time I submitted a bug ticket they wanted me to upgrade support, so I'm not sure I'm going to waste my time.
|
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.