Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
I'm seeing some weird calculations -- in orders that have items with volume discounts, whenever I try and edit the order or open the Payment Page, the volume discount gets added AGAIN -- I have an item that sells for $7.45, price for 2 or more is $6.95 -- I opened the order to edit, and it lowered the price ANOTHER .50 -- I hit the Payment tab, and now the price was down to $5.95!
Is anyone else seeing this behavior? It's on more than one order. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,737
|
Joe, check your width on col 2. You're getting moved to the bottom of col 1 again - IE6.
Vol pricing... is it only on ther admin side? Does this happen BEFORE you get to capture, or only when you 'edit', say for shipping costs? Just wondering if the page is calculating incorrectly for every instance of admin access. |
Optimists invent airplanes, Pessimists buy parachutes. |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
Mitch -- I'm having someone look at my column size -- I don't have IE6 to even be able to check.
I'm getting some wrong calculations when a customer is a member of a Price Group on a product with Volume Pricing, I think then when you edit it, it's applying both -- but I had a couple of orders today where the customers were charged the wrong amounts. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,737
|
I've been holding off on a few product 'builds' hoping vol pricing and price groups would be able to work together. I've been working Christmas orders for days, so I can't remember what my SP2 issue with vol & groups was...
I would think that if a member of a price group is supposed to be priced at 70% of the site price, this would be AFTER the vol discount. The general public would get this vol discount, so in order to keep the price grouper's discount intact, he'd have to get the vol discount AND the price group discount on top.
Another way... say the vol discount allowed quantity of 10 at 30% off, but the price group allowed 80% of site (20% off). What would be the advantage of being a member of the price group?
If the price group is getting the discount on the volume discounted price, then I'll be happy - unless the math is wrong.
Are we still dealing with bad math, no matter the methodology? |
Optimists invent airplanes, Pessimists buy parachutes. |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
I've been testing this for a while here, and I am so far unable to duplicate your volume discount issue. I have a user setup with a 10% off volume discount and I have a 10 dollar product that goes to 8 dollars when two or more are purchased. When this user adds this item to the cart I get the product for 7 dollars. Which is 8 dollars minus the 10% off of the 10 dollar product. I am however seeing the issue of compounding volume discounts when the order is edited. I had to put some code in to modify the ApplyVolumePricing workflow task to only apply if the order is not placed. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
I had another order today where the customer was charged $5.00 more than the Subtotal -- plus I sent you a ticket with the Order Email where the Subtotal is $1.00 more than the total of the product. It's like the Subtotal is being calcuated BEFORE any volume discounts, and the customer's card is charged that amount as well.
The bad thing is that even though the order is marked "Overpaid" when you open it, it does'nt display the Red icon on the Order Manager page. Maybe I need to give you a logon to our site so you can take a look at the order? |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
It would probably be more useful to get a direct database connection so that we can see exactly what is in the database. If you are comfortable with that, please send it to me at justin at bvsoftware dot com and I will try and take a look at it tomorrow. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
I'm seeing this also, but on the cart page. The product is $5 each, qty of 3 lowers by 1 dollar. The subtotal isn't showing the volume discount, it keeps the original price. opening the admin view order, lowers the product price again by the volume discount rate and the subtotal shows the correct original value. Clicking on the edit order button, drops the per unit price again by the volume discount. Without editing, clicking on order details lower it again by the volume discount. One more time and the products are $0. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/21/2007(UTC) Posts: 1,113
|
I had a customer see it herself on the cart page and contact me before checking out because she was afraid the cart wasn't working corrrectly -- which it isn't -- and I can only hope I'm not losing too many sales because of this. This issue should be a priority. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
Once I edited the order, it doesn't happen anymore for that order.
Update: I found in the code that once the order is edited, the baseprice is fixed. So this isn't the solution, but it at least keeps the value from changing again.
Spent a good part of today looking, but I just haven't found the issue yet. I can see the discount getting applied, but then it gets cleared and then it keeps getting the same value added. Wish BV folks were around to let us know what is going on. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
So far: In ApplyVolumePricing.vb, line 51: If previous discounts are not cleared, here is where the discount gets doubled. In Order.vb, line 692 Calculate Sub: Once the order has been placed, the ClearDiscounts() sub doesn't get run, so on the next running (which is right after the order has been placed, the discount gets applied 2 times. Around line 706: Code: [color=#0000ff]End[/color][color=#0000ff]If[/color][2] BusinessRules.Workflow.RunByBvin(c, WebAppSettings.WorkflowIdCartCalculate)[/2]
While the _IsPlaced code seems to work, I cannot see any thing running different in the ApplyVolumePricing code when the workflow is run other than that when the ApplyVolumePricing is run, you get the double value off. I do see the calculateOffers get bypassed in ApplyOffersBase. ApplyVolumePricing doesn't have the code to allow it to get bypassed. By the way, my user has no special discounts or pricing groups. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
As a temporary test, I commented out the If-Then, which forces the ClearDiscounts to always be run. Code: [color=#0000ff]End[/color][color=#0000ff]If [/color]
The cart shows a double discount for the line item and a single discount for the subtotal. The final checkout receipt shows the correct lineitem, but the subtotal without the discount. The admin side is not running away with discounts and the subtotal to with no discount. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
Yes, we have found this issue and it will be released with SP3 which is coming out this week. We are not releasing it in a hotfix because the code is in the application core. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.