• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

3 Pages<123>
Matt@9BallDesign
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 3, 2008 8:47:14 AM(UTC)
Matt@9BallDesign

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/23/2003(UTC)
Posts: 909

I just checked the site and I've noticed improvement! (about 5 seconds)

The javascript that I'm referring too on your site is loading the left navigation menu, however, this might not be an issue considering the current load time. Here's the javascript code that you are using in your home column 1 copied directly from your source:

&lt;script type="text/javascript"&gt;


var xmlHttp = false;
try {
xmlHttp = new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP");
} catch (e) {
try {
xmlHttp = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP");
} catch (e2) {
xmlHttp=false;
}
}


if (!xmlHttp &amp;&amp; typeof XMLHttpRequest != 'undefined') {
xmlHttp = new XMLHttpRequest();

}


function callCat(url) {


// Build the URL to connect to
//var url = "../BVmodules/CategoryTemplates/NS%20Detailed%20List/fillcat.aspx?categoryId=" + catid;

// open a connection to the server

//alert(url);
xmlHttp.open("GET", url, true);

// Setup a function for the server to run when it's done
xmlHttp.onreadystatechange = updatePage;

// Send the request
xmlHttp.send(null);


}


function updatePage() {
if (xmlHttp.readyState &lt; 4 )
{

document.getElementById("preloading").style.visibility = "visible";
document.onmousemove = getMouseXY;


}
if (xmlHttp.readyState == 4 ||
xmlHttp.readyState == 'complete'){
var response = xmlHttp.responseText;

document.close;
// alert(response);
document.getElementById("preloading").style.visibility = 'hidden';

document.getElementById("categorylist").style.display = 'block';
document.getElementById("categorylist").innerHTML = response;
}

}

var IE = document.all?true:false;

function getMouseXY(e) {
if (IE) { // grab the x-y pos.s if browser is IE
tempX = event.clientX + document.body.scrollLeft
tempY = event.clientY + document.body.scrollTop
} else { // grab the x-y pos.s if browser is NS
tempX = e.pageX
tempY = e.pageY
}
// catch possible negative values in NS4
if (tempX &lt; 0){tempX = 0}
if (tempY &lt; 0){tempY = 0}
// show the position values in the form named Show
// in the text fields named MouseX and MouseY
document.getElementById("preloading").style.left = tempX;
document.getElementById("preloading").style.top = tempY
return true
}


&lt;/script&gt;
Matt Martell


http://www.9balldesign.com - Web, Print, Graphic


http://www.martellhardware.com/ - Decorative &amp; Builder's Hardware

------------------------------------------------
chaitanya123
#22 Posted : Friday, April 4, 2008 4:58:13 AM(UTC)
chaitanya123

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/3/2008(UTC)
Posts: 4

Yes that is now an issue. The only problem now I am facing is server intial request issue.
sheolung
#23 Posted : Monday, April 7, 2008 2:04:25 AM(UTC)
sheolung

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/31/2008(UTC)
Posts: 8

We have been able to implement some changes to the website and improved the speed somewhat.

One of the remaining issues is the initial load times. From going through various BVC sites, I find that their initial load times (click to first byte) is around 0.5-1.5 sec. However, we are still facing 5 - 9 sec in comparison. After first byte, the loading is completed promptly, around 1 - 1.5 sec afterwards. Even the generic pages, such as About Us or Terms page, are facing a similar issue.

Can I please get some insight as to what is causing the initial delays. Our developers have looked at the HTML and they feel that it is not causing the delay. Other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Noah
#24 Posted : Monday, April 7, 2008 9:34:15 AM(UTC)
Noah

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/6/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,903

I would talk to your host. We deal with issues like this all the time. It's not to complicated to watch what is going on server and SQL wise.

Do you have 3rd party apps loading with the page? They can slow things down a lot.

How large is the viewstate when the first page is fully loaded? That can cause a long load it it's exceptionally large.

How many calls to the DB to load it?

Is the DB on the same server as the other sites?
Noah
CorneliuTusnea
#25 Posted : Monday, April 7, 2008 7:32:42 PM(UTC)
CorneliuTusnea

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC)
Posts: 681

chewie999,
If you have delays on the initial hit it can't be the HTML. The Html is generated very late in the execution of your ASP.Net page.
Enable ASP.Net Tracing (http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms972204.aspx) and see where you page is spending it's time.
My take would be that you added some stuff in the constructor of your base pages, or in the page_load, page_init handlers.
Contact me at corneliu at bestgames com au and I'll try to help you debug and fix your problem.
Regards,
Corneliu.
http://www.bestgames.com.au
http://www.bestchess.com.au



BV Product Links, Details and Signatures: Improve your customer experience:

http://www.acorns.com.au/projects/bv/quicklink/

sheolung
#26 Posted : Tuesday, April 8, 2008 4:38:58 AM(UTC)
sheolung

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/31/2008(UTC)
Posts: 8

I will ask my developers to install the tracing so we can get some numbers.

As I understand, we do not have any third party applications although the BVC was modified to handle multiple currencies. In addition, we have set-up an affiliate site based on the main site (sub-domain). My developers suspect that the code that was installed to differentiate the query results between main and affiliate site is causing the initial delay.

I am not completely convinced.

By the way, the database is installed on the same server and a complete page load is around 100-150KB (2-3 requests).
DennyW
#27 Posted : Wednesday, April 9, 2008 2:35:43 PM(UTC)
DennyW

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/9/2008(UTC)
Posts: 13

So we are also expieriencing this slowness on 2 sites developed for our clients. Part of the customization for the client involved creating a custom catagory list/product list control and putting on the catagory template instead of the one used by bv5 by default.
This sped things up quite a bit, however the product detail page, checkout, etc are all still incredibly slow. Our custome controls are using the BV objects and object collections, and run fine, it's only the pages using the defult BV web controls that are running so slow.

Has there been any resoultion to this?

To look over one of our sites having this problem go to www.falcontech.com
sheolung
#28 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2008 3:03:53 AM(UTC)
sheolung

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/31/2008(UTC)
Posts: 8

DennyW

Your website speed is as slow as ours. I still can't figure out how to fix ours but we're trying to set-up a testing site and disabling all customizations one by one to see whether those are the problem.
DennyW
#29 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2008 1:13:33 PM(UTC)
DennyW

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/9/2008(UTC)
Posts: 13

I found the problem (at elast in our case).


Custom Workflow steps.



There was an error but BV in all their wisdom catch the error and hide it rather than letting you know anything went wrong.



This results in an exception time lag on every page that uses the workflow, in our case every page that showed a price.
Marcus
#30 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2008 1:22:05 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Denny,

There is a very good reason we catch errors. You're supposed to catch your own errors in custom modules and add them to the errors collection. A workflow as a strict pass/fail architecture. Your custom module should always return a true/false boolean value and never throw an error.

We added a generic catch block in case someone forgot to do their own error checking.
DennyW
#31 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2008 2:44:04 PM(UTC)
DennyW

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/9/2008(UTC)
Posts: 13

i would think some kind of alert on the admin dashboard page to lets someone know an error had occured would be highly practicle... considering your application, while robust is VERY large with error logs nestled pretty far in.
Marcus
#32 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2008 7:09:41 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

That's why we have the event log. A single error alert on the dashboard would quickly become an event log. I'm sure there is room for improvement but you can filter the event log by event type.
DennyW
#33 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2008 4:57:59 PM(UTC)
DennyW

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/9/2008(UTC)
Posts: 13

i wasn't thinking for every event, just one nessage that showed there were new errors.
Andy Miller
#34 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2008 5:01:14 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Good suggestion. FogBugz has this on its dashboard, "Errors have occured..." with a link to details.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
Marcus
#35 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2008 8:28:36 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

How do we decide who get the notification and who doesn't? If there is more than one admin who should be notified of errors? When do we remove the error notification? When they view the error? When all people view the error?
CorneliuTusnea
#36 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2008 8:58:32 PM(UTC)
CorneliuTusnea

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC)
Posts: 681

I'd like to see the "Errors" attached to the order. So the order is highlighted with Red if it has errors, and I can go and check all the errors related to that Order.
Regards,
Corneliu.
http://www.bestgames.com.au
http://www.bestchess.com.au



BV Product Links, Details and Signatures: Improve your customer experience:

http://www.acorns.com.au/projects/bv/quicklink/

Andy Miller
#37 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2008 2:30:06 AM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: "Marcus" Go to Quoted Post

How do we decide who get the notification and who doesn't? If there is more than one admin who should be notified of errors? When do we remove the error notification? When they view the error? When all people view the error?


I was thinking it would appear on the dashboard in the left column. Something like,



Errors have occurred.



But only if at least one error (not info and not warnings) had occurred since the last time the flag was cleared. The message should be a link. When you click on the link, you are taken to the error log and the flag is cleared. If you were to go back to the dashboard and refresh, the message would be gone.



The message would appear to any Admin authorized to see the Event Log.



The first Admin to click the link would clear the message and the next admin would not see it unless a new error had occurred in the mean time.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
Matt@9BallDesign
#38 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2008 7:00:16 AM(UTC)
Matt@9BallDesign

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/23/2003(UTC)
Posts: 909

I can see the phone calls and the emails from the clients. What's this? what's that error mean? is the site working?

Please don't add this feature unless you integrate what Andy mentions with an administrative role added. Those who should be reviewing and addressing errors, should know where to go.
Matt Martell


http://www.9balldesign.com - Web, Print, Graphic


http://www.martellhardware.com/ - Decorative &amp; Builder's Hardware

------------------------------------------------
MitchA
#39 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2008 7:20:12 AM(UTC)
MitchA

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,737

I wouldn't mind a method for marking the error for follow-up, the way an email is flagged after it been read. Some errors deserve second looks and marking these make it easier to find, resolve, and then mark 'resolved' or 'ignor'.

Attaching a note to the error for later reference might be useful too.
Optimists invent airplanes,
Pessimists buy parachutes.
Matt@9BallDesign
#40 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2008 8:15:04 AM(UTC)
Matt@9BallDesign

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/23/2003(UTC)
Posts: 909

If the error is marked as resolve, I'm of the position that it should deleted from the event log. Event logs can get pretty big!
Matt Martell


http://www.9balldesign.com - Web, Print, Graphic


http://www.martellhardware.com/ - Decorative &amp; Builder's Hardware

------------------------------------------------
3 Pages<123>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012