• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

sternyy
#1 Posted : Monday, June 2, 2008 3:38:10 PM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I have to prefix "<h6>Overview</h6>" to all of my product's long description field. With having over 1500 products, i need an easy wat to do this. suggestions?
CorneliuTusnea
#2 Posted : Monday, June 2, 2008 11:41:36 PM(UTC)
CorneliuTusnea

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC)
Posts: 681

Run something like this on your db (not tested not guaranteed)
update bvc_Product
set LongDescription = "<h6>Overview</h6>" + LongDescription
where LongDescription not like "<h6>Overview</h6>%"
This should do it. Make sure you backup, test off-site, bla bla .. so you don't mess up with your db.
Regards,
Corneliu
http://www.bestgames.com.au
http://www.bestchess.com.au



BV Product Links, Details and Signatures: Improve your customer experience:

http://www.acorns.com.au/projects/bv/quicklink/

sternyy
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 3, 2008 9:00:17 AM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
awsome, ill test it. thanks!
sternyy
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 4, 2008 9:09:36 AM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I get this error:

Msg 207, Level 16, State 1, Line 3
Invalid column name '<h6>Overview</h6>%'.
Matt@9BallDesign
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 4, 2008 10:46:54 AM(UTC)
Matt@9BallDesign

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/23/2003(UTC)
Posts: 909

Use SQL Find &amp; Replace. Tap Noah @ Resposio.
Matt Martell


http://www.9balldesign.com - Web, Print, Graphic


http://www.martellhardware.com/ - Decorative &amp; Builder's Hardware

------------------------------------------------
sternyy
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 4, 2008 10:59:39 AM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
yeah i've used SQL find and replace and got tons of errors
sternyy
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 4, 2008 11:00:45 AM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
the error was because of the " when it should be '
Cliff
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 4, 2008 12:53:14 PM(UTC)
Cliff

Rank: Member

Joined: 5/24/2004(UTC)
Posts: 4,147

Is this something that would be better done in your product page template, since it's a title heading? Quicker to update, no mass product changes.
sternyy
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 4, 2008 12:59:11 PM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
its for use with the product tabs. That's the way i have it now is on the page template, but it creates some problems.


The call for the long description puts 2 spans around the long descriptions which creates the problem im having.
avmwebguy
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 5, 2008 8:07:12 AM(UTC)
avmwebguy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/24/2008(UTC)
Posts: 60

Try this:


In Product.aspx.vb (Product Template Page Code), search for


Code:
Me.lblDescription.Text = Me.LocalProduct.LongDescription


Replace with

Code:
Me.lblDescription.Text = "<h6>Overview</h6>" & Me.LocalProduct.LongDescription


This will accomplish the same thing as the mass DB replacement, and much easier to modify.


Only thing is if the spans are affecting you, this may not help. . . I tried this on my site, and it seemed to work fine though.

Hope it helps.
- Brian

Web Developer/IT Manager
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012