• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Mark H
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 6, 2008 12:51:45 AM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

I have observed 2 errors for the kitting in 5.4


1) Kits do not show up in customer-side category view. I first created a generic kit, marked as active, added in components/parts (also active and in stock), and added the kit to the category. The kit is not viewable from within any category menu (detailed list, simple list, etc.) You can view it as a "product" and it can be added to cart, etc. and shows the correct breadcrumb trail, but is not seen within the customer-side category view.



2) Html within the kit description generates an error i.e. <div> </div>. (This may not be considered an 'error' per say, but no other input field within products or categories behaves as such.)



Could someone else please verify so that we can get BV to address these bugs. Thanks!
Marcus
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 6, 2008 10:34:52 AM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Mark,

1) How exactly are you adding the kit to the category? Are all the components of the kit in stock and available?

2) What error exactly is generated by HTML in the description of a kit?
Mark H
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 6, 2008 11:04:58 AM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

1) Yes, the components are in stock and active. I have tried adding the kit to a category both through the kit
'edit categories' interface, as well as directly from the category itself.



My exact steps are as follows: Click new kit, input new sku & name, click add component & add component name, click add part, select an active in stock product and 'select' to populate fields, click save, click save, click edit categories, select a category, click save, and click save again.



The above steps create a kit that can be found via search, and also display the breadcrumb trail for their respective place within the category, but it is just not in the category menu. I have tried numerous different category templates (all un-modified) and it just does not show up.
Mark H
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 6, 2008 11:07:50 AM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

2) Error for html input:

Server Error in '/' Application.


A potentially dangerous Request.Form value was detected from the client (ctl00$MainContent$LongDescriptionField$ctl00$EditorField="<div>test</div>").
Description: Request Validation has detected a potentially dangerous client input value, and processing of the request has been aborted. This value may indicate an attempt to compromise the security of your application, such as a cross-site scripting attack. You can disable request validation by setting validateRequest=false in the Page directive or in the configuration section. However, it is strongly recommended that your application explicitly check all inputs in this case.

Exception Details: System.Web.HttpRequestValidationException: A potentially dangerous Request.Form value was detected from the client (ctl00$MainContent$LongDescriptionField$ctl00$EditorField="<div>test</div>").

Source Error:

The source code that generated this unhandled exception can only be shown when compiled in debug mode. To enable this, please follow one of the below steps, then request the URL:

1. Add a "Debug=true" directive at the top of the file that generated the error. Example:

<%@ Page Language="C#" Debug="true" %>

or:

2) Add the following section to the configuration file of your application:

<configuration>
<system.web>
<compilation debug="true"/>
</system.web>
</configuration>

Note that this second technique will cause all files within a given application to be compiled in debug mode. The first technique will cause only that particular file to be compiled in debug mode.

Important: Running applications in debug mode does incur a memory/performance overhead. You should make sure that an application has debugging disabled before deploying into production scenario.

Stack Trace:


[HttpRequestValidationException (0x80004005): A potentially dangerous Request.Form value was detected from the client (ctl00$MainContent$LongDescriptionField$ctl00$EditorField="<div>test</div>").]
System.Web.HttpRequest.ValidateString(String s, String valueName, String collectionName) +3307682
System.Web.HttpRequest.ValidateNameValueCollection(NameValueCollection nvc, String collectionName) +108
System.Web.HttpRequest.get_Form() +119
System.Web.HttpRequest.get_HasForm() +3309630
System.Web.UI.Page.GetCollectionBasedOnMethod(Boolean dontReturnNull) +45
System.Web.UI.Page.DeterminePostBackMode() +65
System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) +7350
System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) +213
System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest() +86
System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestWithNoAssert(HttpContext context) +18
System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest(HttpContext context) +49
ASP.bvadmin_catalog_kit_edit_aspx.ProcessRequest(HttpContext context) +29
System.Web.CallHandlerExecutionStep.System.Web.HttpApplication.IExecutionStep.Execute() +358
System.Web.HttpApplication.ExecuteStep(IExecutionStep step, Boolean& completedSynchronously) +64





Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.1433; ASP.NET Version:2.0.50727.1433
Marcus
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 6, 2008 12:37:06 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

You can add a ValidateRequest="False" attribute to the <%@Page %> tag at the top of that page to get rid of the error.
Mark H
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 6, 2008 1:30:18 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

Thank you, I'll give it a try.

And for the items not showing up in the categories?
Mark H
#7 Posted : Sunday, November 9, 2008 12:37:18 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

For the items not showing up in categories, I have more information that may help:

(we have 2 sites, one the kits show up in categories, 1 they do not, so I have used this to isolate what may be causing the problem)

It is not related to themes, category templates, or master pages, as I have tried with it with the files in a 100% un-modified state with the default theme. It is not related to inventory, as turning on/off inventory for the component products or the entire store have no effect. It does not appear to be a problem with the database, as I have compared the 2 site's databases and stored procedures (1 working and 1 not) to eachother, and the various tables with kit and category data and the way they relate to eachother appear to be the same.

Dealing with the database queries, stored procedures, and .dll's is beyond my ability, so Marcus your feedback would be appreciated to get 5.4 working for all users. Thanks!
Marcus
#8 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2008 4:21:27 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Since you had issues with the patches I suspect that some stored procedure is incorrect in one of the databases. Do you have a back up of the database from the site that is giving you problems so you can run the SQL patches again?
Mark H
#9 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2008 9:23:51 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

Loosing 4 days of order data would be a real headache. I'd rather go through line-by line and compare all the stored procedures from my 2 sites databases (the one with kitting working, and the one without.) In the end, though, I ultimately feel that this type of 'beta' troubleshooting should not be the end users responsibility, especialy considering this was not a beta release.

Also, Marcus, I do appreciate your assistance thus far in getting this resolved. We have been waiting for 12 months for the kitting feature, and the kitting was one of the 3 primary reasons for choosing your cart software in the first place. After such a long wait and countless delays on getting the kitting, and now it not working as it should out of the box, I would not hesitate to say that unless we can get it functioning as it should we will be switching to one of your competitors. (This is by no means a threat or meant to make flames, I'm just trying to share our perspective as a customer in hopes that it could make your job easier in meeting the end user's expectations. You have a great product and it works quite well 99.9% of the time.) If you feel this forum is not the place to discuss this, by all means, please edit my post. Thanks!
Marcus
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2008 11:45:25 AM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Mark,

I appreciate the feedback. We have been beta testing the 5.4 version for several months with many outside testers. I'm very confident that kitting works as designed. The issues you experienced were directly related to the upgrade utility and the database patching. We certainly had an issue on the first day with the patcher that we resolved within 24 hours. It was a mistake and I'm sorry that your upgrade was affected by it but we have resolved the issue in the patcher and are working with you to get your site running correctly.

If you would like I would be happy to get a copy of your databases and use our SQL comparison tools to determine where your current database differs from a standard 5.4 database and send you a change script specific to your store.
Mark H
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2008 1:03:35 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

Ive run a DB comparison tool against the two sites already, and it found no differences, although both were updated by the schema and data scripts, thus may be different from the norm.

I sent you an email (marcus@ bv. . .com) with the ftp info to get our backup. Thanks!
Mark H
#12 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 12:24:44 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

Marcus, Any update on on checking my databasewith the SQL comparison tool for my database? thanks.

I sent you an email (marcus@ bv. . .com) with the ftp info to get our backup. Thanks!
Marcus
#13 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 2:54:05 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Mark,

Yes, we are still looking into why this could be happening. I've tried hooking your database up to standard 5.4 code and the error still happens. However, if we hook up a standard 5.4 database to standard 5.4 code we can't duplicate the issue. We found that some of the extra information fields in the database were missing but they shouldn't have any effect on the code. We also found that there was a difference in collation settings for some tables which we're looking into as a possible cause.

In summary, we think it has something to do with the state of your database and hope to have a patch for you when we identify exactly why it's not working.
Mark H
#14 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 4:38:47 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

Some additional info: Our database was originally a Storefront database that was migrated over by Resposio using your migration tool. The migration was about 14 months ago, thus it was a SF to BV 5.2???)
Mark H
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 3:36:03 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

Any update? We'd like to be able to utilize this feature before the Holidays are long gone. thanks!
Mark H
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 26, 2008 7:56:05 PM(UTC)
Mark H

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC)
Posts: 153

Going on a 3rd week now and still major issues with 5.4

Several bugs were fixed thanks to other users here on the forum, but a little support from BV would be nice to. . .

Any word on when the kitting will be working for all users?
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012