• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

spanlogic
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2008 11:50:41 AM(UTC)
spanlogic

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11

Hi,


I'm still trying out the demo version 5.4. After added a few orders and set their status to complete, I decided to change the handling fee to another figure (e.g. $10) from $0.



Looking back to the orders I have initially added, their handling fee and grand totals also being modified, showing increased figures.



Another issue.



I went into SQL "Orders" table and update the "HandlingFee" field manually. Went back to the admin "view order" page, the handling fee was still there.



Is this a bug? Thanks.
spanlogic
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2008 12:22:41 PM(UTC)
spanlogic

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11

I have wrote some custom "Handling Fee" calculation, based on some custom logic.

I was able to display the correct handling fee at the checkout page (review.aspx). Also, I was able to save the correct handling fee to the "Orders" SQL table.

The strange thing is that the view order page doesn't reflect the correct handling fee.

Can somebody help me on this?
spanlogic
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 1:16:34 AM(UTC)
spanlogic

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11

Has anybody from BV seen this?

I feel that response has been slow from BV. I know I'm not a customer yet, but this IS the technical issue that is holding me back becoming one!

I still have 3 e-commerce projects in the pipeline that I thought I would be able to use BV Commerce. But if I don't get a response soon, that might change. Thank you very much.
Andy Miller
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 4:00:13 AM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: "spanlogic" Go to Quoted Post
I have wrote some custom "Handling Fee" calculation, based on some custom logic.

I was able to display the correct handling fee at the checkout page (review.aspx). Also, I was able to save the correct handling fee to the "Orders" SQL table.

The strange thing is that the view order page doesn't reflect the correct handling fee.

Can somebody help me on this?

Here's what I would do:

1. Read ViewOrder.aspx to find out where it gets the handling fee (which method).
2. Use Reflector to read the method to find out where it gets the handling fee (code or stored procedure).
3. Repeat until I figure out where the handling fee is coming from.
4. Fix my code.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
spanlogic
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 7:50:58 AM(UTC)
spanlogic

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11

Dear Andy thank you for your opinion.

Well it might be hard to "fix" the code, as the order information is obtained from the compiled class "Order". Are the source files of those compiled classes included?

If there is really no fix from BV, then perhaps I should just perform read/write directly with database . That's sad. :sad:
Andy Miller
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 10:25:04 AM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I must misunderstand something. From your description, it sounds like the problem is in your custom code, not in BV. I do not recall anyone reporting an error in the way BV calculates handling.

If you think the problem is in BV, could you state the problem again, perhaps in a different way so that it is clear what BV is doing wrong and what you expected BV to do.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
spanlogic
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 1:42:06 PM(UTC)
spanlogic

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11

Sorry for the bad description, here I go again.


First, handling fee is set to $0 (per order). Make one order, #0001 total $50. Payment method = telephone.



Go to admin, vieworder.aspx, the order is showing correct figures (subtotal $50, handling $0, grand total $50). Make full cash payment $50.



Now change the handling fee to $8, under "options" -> "shipping".



Go back to view the orders again. Handling fee magically updated to $8, and grand total updated to $58. Amount due updated to $8.



Go to SQL Order table and look at the record for order #0001. The GrandTotal field and HandlingTotal field show the correct figures ($50, and $0).



Try to change HandlingTotal field to some other figure (e.g. $12) in the SQL table for order #0001, and view the order information at the admin panel again, it's still $8.



I believe this is evident enough to show BV only pulls handling fee from the handling fee setting, not the order's own record.



To set the record straight, I'm using 5.4 Trial, no patch no update.



Thanks Andy for your assistance on this matter. Hopefully BV people would also offer help! :confused:
spanlogic
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 1:48:37 PM(UTC)
spanlogic

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11

Actually I was trying to set a custom calculated Handling Fee figure for each order.

I have succeeded in writing the correct custom handling fee to the Order table, via BV's Order object exposed HandlingTotal property.

But then the vieworder.aspx and potentially many other order related pages refused to display the "correct" figure.

That was how I bumped into this "issue". Thanks.
MitchA
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 3:12:57 PM(UTC)
MitchA

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,737

This was discussed in May: (same problem??? Looks like this one fell through the cracks)

http://forums.bvcommerce...9&g=56883#m56883

Adding a handling fee to the site adds the fee to old orders also, switching them to "partially paid" for lack of payment.
Optimists invent airplanes,
Pessimists buy parachutes.
spanlogic
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 20, 2008 9:15:16 AM(UTC)
spanlogic

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11

So was it fixed in previous releases? Or is it fixed in non-trial product? Thanks.
MitchA
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 20, 2008 9:38:28 AM(UTC)
MitchA

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,737

No, it's not fixed, at least not in 5.3.2. I added a $5.00 handling fee to Shipping, and every old order picked it up and switched to "Partially Paid" with a $5.00 balance.
Optimists invent airplanes,
Pessimists buy parachutes.
spanlogic
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 20, 2008 3:03:08 PM(UTC)
spanlogic

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/13/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11

Does anybody from BV care about this? Or is it because it is not properly filed as a bug by a non-customer, so it is not of importance? :cry:
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012