• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

4 Pages<1234>
logicblock
#21 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 9:48:02 AM(UTC)
logicblock

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/15/2007(UTC)
Posts: 37

Paul, did you try disabling URL rewriting as Marcus suggested? If everything speeds up, then at least you will be able to identify that as the issue.
We are VERY glad to hear about a performance upgrade to the URL Rewrite system, Marcus.
ppettit
#22 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 9:49:34 AM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

Originally Posted by: "JP3" Go to Quoted Post
I agree with Kman, SQL query performance (I mean generally, not BV specific) can be a bit obscure at times.
I'd recommend having a qualified dba rebuild any indexes and also update statistics, particulary if there are any Views involved, just to eliminate the possibilities.

I've seen 20:1 query performance increases in some cases across a larger record set with no change to the SQL sent to the database after indexes/stats have been fixed.


Already had I look at that and called in a DBA consult to see if there was any tweaking that could help. Rebuilt the indexes for the bvc_Product and bvc_ProductXCategory tables (had to do the first offline ) and did a few other assorted checks but no change in the online results (i.e. no items showing up). According to what we can see the SQL settings are fine and the server is not having a problem serving up results, they just don't show up online.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
ppettit
#23 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 9:59:44 AM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

Originally Posted by: "Marcus" Go to Quoted Post
Paul,

As an experiment, try turing off URL rewriting in the admin->options->Performance for Categories, then products.

How many categories do you display in the left nav window by default? We recently had several sites with 100+ categories in the left nav. The URL rewriter was not designed to rewrite 100+ urls on a single page and this can cause a serious slow down.

Version 5.7 (available this fall) includes a huge performance upgrade to the rewriting system which has helped those other sites tremendously.


Did that as a test, no change in the results.

We have 15 categories and no sub categories.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
ppettit
#24 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 10:16:43 AM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

I have a question for the group: does anyone have a single category (or sub category) that has more than 10,000 items in it? If so can I get a link to it so I can see a working example.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
Marcus
#25 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 11:04:47 AM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Paul,

I'm concerned that you had to "have your DBA rebuild the indexes for bvc_Product and other tables." This should not be necessary to get good performance out of the software. We've got lots of clients running 200,000+ total products and they don't need to rebuild any indexes.

It shouldn't really matter if you have 10,000 or 10 million products assigned to a category. The paging code only returns the products actually displayed on a single page.

Did you upgrade from a previous version or start with 5.6? There were some updates to the ProductAvailableAndActive function that can affect performance. If you missed this during an upgrade you would see a slowdown.
ppettit
#26 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 1:12:44 PM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

Originally Posted by: "Marcus" Go to Quoted Post
Paul,

I'm concerned that you had to "have your DBA rebuild the indexes for bvc_Product and other tables." This should not be necessary to get good performance out of the software. We've got lots of clients running 200,000+ total products and they don't need to rebuild any indexes.

It shouldn't really matter if you have 10,000 or 10 million products assigned to a category. The paging code only returns the products actually displayed on a single page.

Did you upgrade from a previous version or start with 5.6? There were some updates to the ProductAvailableAndActive function that can affect performance. If you missed this during an upgrade you would see a slowdown.


I didn't think we had to rebuild the indexes, we just did it to placate a request and to see if it made any difference. It didn't so that eliminates one possible cause of the problem.

I understand that it returns only what is supposed to be shown on that page but somewhere there is a bottleneck in the programming.

We are running 5.5 which was the last version we were able to get access to. Our license agreement ran out just after 5.6 was issued but we were not able to download it before all access was cut off.

The store was built on a clean (new) install.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
ppettit
#27 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 1:20:07 PM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

As a test I ran the following SQL query:

SELECT bvc_Product.bvin, bvc_Product.ManufacturerID, bvc_ProductXCategory.CategoryID
FROM bvc_Manufacturer INNER JOIN (bvc_Product INNER JOIN bvc_ProductXCategory ON bvc_Product.bvin = bvc_ProductXCategory.ProductID) ON bvc_Product.ManufacturerID = bvc_Manufacturer.bvin
WHERE (((bvc_ProductXCategory.CategoryID) LIKE 'e7e7c431-xxxx-yyyy-zzzz-a0b435f4e00d') AND ((bvc_Product.Status) = 1))
ORDER BY bvc_Manufacturer.DisplayName;

This was just to speed test a multi join query and see if there was a problem. The results came back in under 1 second.

I'm guessing at this point I'm going to have to dive into the code and see where it's choking at the app level because every test on the SQL server has come back clean. If anyone has any additional ideas I'd be really glad to hear them.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
Aaron
#28 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 1:38:58 PM(UTC)
Aaron

Rank: Administration

Joined: 4/2/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,393
United States
Location: Hummelstown, PA

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 163 time(s) in 158 post(s)
Paul,

Are you running any sales or discounts? Depending how those are setup they can adversely affect performance. Also, did you ever copy the site to your SQL Server and test it?
Aaron Sherrick
BV Commerce
Toll-free 888-665-8637 - Int'l +1 717-220-0012
ppettit
#29 Posted : Monday, September 28, 2009 3:51:00 PM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

Originally Posted by: "Aaron" Go to Quoted Post
Paul,

Are you running any sales or discounts? Depending how those are setup they can adversely affect performance. Also, did you ever copy the site to your SQL Server and test it?


No sales or discounts.

No, have not copied it to the SQL server.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
ppettit
#30 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 10:12:46 AM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

Update:

We separated the Licensing category in to sub categories. As soon as this was done and the items moved the main category became available again. Unfortunately two groups of items exceeded what appears to be a "magic number" of approx 6000 items and now will not show up unlike the rest of the sub categories.

The odd thing in this is that if you do an "empty" search with one of those "broken" sub categories, all items in that category are returned without a problem. This points to a failure of the code that controls the rendering of category results. Turning off URL rewriting has no effect.

Without putting to fine a point on it, BVCommerce does not seem to be ready for use as a ecommerce application for large scale product deployment. The fact that the issue "moves" with the data indicates a failure of the application in dealing with large data sets when called by users via the application itself. While the continued failure of the application to render all items in the admin tool (under Products) is annoying, the fact that customers will not see any products when going to categories that cross some unknown limit is unacceptable.

We are currently looking into further consultation options to see if there is a fix for BVCommerce before being forced to replace it, we have invested too many hours of hard work to quit yet. Should any consultants here wish to contact me directly you should do so via links at our site. Please serious inquiries only, we are a multi-million dollar corporation and this is not a joking matter.

Sadly this has all simply confirmed my original statement.

Peace and good luck to you all. I will continue to monitor this tread for any new ideas.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
Aaron
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 11:23:45 AM(UTC)
Aaron

Rank: Administration

Joined: 4/2/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,393
United States
Location: Hummelstown, PA

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 163 time(s) in 158 post(s)
Paul,

Would you be willing to send me a copy of your database, less any customer data that might be there? I would like to try to replicate your problem in our environment (no charge). If so, please give me a call at the number in my signature. Thanks.
Aaron Sherrick
BV Commerce
Toll-free 888-665-8637 - Int'l +1 717-220-0012
ppettit
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 12:39:22 PM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

Originally Posted by: "Aaron" Go to Quoted Post
Paul,

Would you be willing to send me a copy of your database, less any customer data that might be there? I would like to try to replicate your problem in our environment (no charge). If so, please give me a call at the number in my signature. Thanks.


Thanks, I will be contacting you soon.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
Marcus
#33 Posted : Thursday, October 1, 2009 9:27:08 AM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Paul,

I'm happy to help you try and resolve the issue but I've got two problems with your approach:

1) You don't have a maintenance plan for the software and aren't running the latest version. We're always making updates and if you are a "multi-million dollar" company then you shouldn't have any problems getting a maintenance plan to make sure you're running the latest code.

2) You keep saying the "BV Commerce is hopelessy crippled" or similar things. This isn't constructive or accurate in the least. The fact that your specific store has an issue does not mean that the application is "not ready for large scale product deployment."

The claims that you are making about my application are false and potentially harmful to my business. I'd like to help but if you keep going down this path I'll have to pull your posts from the forum.
Aaron
#34 Posted : Friday, October 2, 2009 1:45:55 PM(UTC)
Aaron

Rank: Administration

Joined: 4/2/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,393
United States
Location: Hummelstown, PA

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 163 time(s) in 158 post(s)
Paul,

After looking into this the bottleneck isn’t with the application code (ASP.NET) but rather in the SQL stored procedure that performs the product lookup, bvc_Product_ByCategoryFiltered_s. The SQL query tests you ran were rather simple compared to what this procedure does. In addition to finding the products that belong to a given category, it also sorts them according to the category sorting setting in the admin and performs an inventory check. The sorting requires an additional table join and the inventory check performs another join and also runs a SQL function. In other words, there’s a lot going on so when you have a large category this negatively impacts performance. Note that it is the category size, not the total size of your catalog, that is causing the problem.

After taking a closer look at how the procedure works I found a few places to optimize it. First, it looks like there are two unnecessary joins. Removing these provides a small improvement in performance. With a category containing 9,000 products I saw the execution time decrease about 1 second from 6 seconds to 5 seconds.

The other place that the query can be optimized is by removing the inventory check. Unfortunately you can only do this if you are not tracking inventory in BV. If that is the case, removing this check will save another 2 seconds, so your execution time is now down to 3 seconds (from 6 seconds).

Attached is a SQL query that will modify the original stored procedure to implement the above optimizations. Note that the changes are simply commented out with a double dash (“--“) at the beginning of the line, so you can always revert back by simply removing them.

To test the procedure before and after, you can execute the following query which returns the first 50 products of your largest category, Supplies:

Code:
exec bvc_Product_ByCategoryFiltered_s '27e4b51f-1cb4-4d03-8314-ae57db0291e3', null, null, 0, 50, 0
File Attachment(s):
bvc_Product_ByCategoryFiltered_s.optimized.txt (6kb) downloaded 85 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Aaron Sherrick
BV Commerce
Toll-free 888-665-8637 - Int'l +1 717-220-0012
ppettit
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 7, 2009 6:23:30 PM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

I want to thank Aaron for his help in exploring where the problem is regarding products not listing in categories in BVC. With his tweaks of the BVC created stored procedures we were able to get the products, that were not showing up because of the number of listings in the chosen category, to show up for users.

We are still having problems with product listing in the Admin menus. The full list now comes up but when attempting to filter it via keyword or SKU the filter gives back no results. Where the breakdown for this is, is hard to say but it doesn't seem to be related to the previous problem.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
ppettit
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 7, 2009 6:49:35 PM(UTC)
ppettit

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/2/2009(UTC)
Posts: 37

Originally Posted by: "Marcus" Go to Quoted Post
Paul,

I'm happy to help you try and resolve the issue but I've got two problems with your approach:

1) You don't have a maintenance plan for the software and aren't running the latest version. We're always making updates and if you are a "multi-million dollar" company then you shouldn't have any problems getting a maintenance plan to make sure you're running the latest code.

2) You keep saying the "BV Commerce is hopelessy crippled" or similar things. This isn't constructive or accurate in the least. The fact that your specific store has an issue does not mean that the application is "not ready for large scale product deployment."

The claims that you are making about my application are false and potentially harmful to my business. I'd like to help but if you keep going down this path I'll have to pull your posts from the forum.


1) Our willingness to pay you more money is directly related to the return on our investment so far. Business 101 (or maybe 102). The situation is compounded by the fact that critical information that would inform us on whether or not the upgrade is worth the plan is hidden so that only those currently IN the plan can see it. You might want to fix that.

2) Regarding not being constructive: I think the responses speak for themselves. Regarding accuracy: I stand by the results to date. With the excellent aid of Aaron Sherrick we have been able to mitigate the category product listing issue that we were having and we are greatly appreciative of his help.

I can't stop you from doing what you feel is right regarding your forums. I won't take umbrage on your implied statement regarding my character but instead I will offer this: if you want I will be glad to email you the issues that have occurred, what was done to address them, and what might be useful improvements from our internal discussion and customer reviews. Let me know if you are interested in this.

Good day.
Paul Pettit
CIO, CCB Inc.

http://www.ccbnonprofits.com

Serving those that server others with affordable technology solutions.
gaynes
#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 5:53:14 PM(UTC)
gaynes

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 70

Paul - We are having the same problem! The server gets very slow and then the product grid shows no products. Then it snaps out of it. This appears to happen about 4-5 times a day. It just started a few weeks ago. Our host wants to throw a dedicated server at the problem. Maybe we just hit a limit as you did. Now I think I will contact Aaron. We do have a maintenance contract but our site is custom and the cost to upgrade it to the latest version was high and we were told it was unnecessary. Please let me know if you found any other solutions. Thanks!

[email protected]
www.kansassampler.com
Kman
#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 7:24:08 PM(UTC)
Kman

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/25/2003(UTC)
Posts: 370

Gaynes, your site is slow... Your do need to do something about that :)
Noted you are not running http compression ???
Looking over some traffic stats for your domain a dedi or VPS looks like a good option for you.
Regards,
Kim(Kman) Rossey
www.toocoolwebs.com
BVSoftware - MerchantTribe Programming/Design, Database Programming and Business Applications
[email protected]
gaynes
#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 7:31:54 PM(UTC)
gaynes

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 70

Kim - It is only slow sometimes, then it won't load products. The rest of the time it is speedy-fast. Therein lies our dilemma. We are on a split server. I would like to move to a dedi but based on comments above I wonder if that will fix the issue. The manager wants to switch to yahoo store. I am open to ideas..
Kman
#40 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 8:09:34 PM(UTC)
Kman

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/25/2003(UTC)
Posts: 370

I just moved this site off of a split server that was having the same issue.

http://www.sportoptics.com/

Performance is substantially better than before.
Looks to be similar content and load as your site.
Wonder if you were on same split :) or host.

He has two more sites I am moving still that are on a splits also.

Current machine is a 64bit Win2008 with 4g mem.
Database server is on same box.

Edit: Wow, just went back there and now you are in zippy fast mode.
I would guess if it does that most of the time you are in good shape on the application.
Regards,
Kim(Kman) Rossey
www.toocoolwebs.com
BVSoftware - MerchantTribe Programming/Design, Database Programming and Business Applications
[email protected]
4 Pages<1234>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012