• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Kman
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 10:11:55 AM(UTC)
Kman

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/25/2003(UTC)
Posts: 370

Some of you my be using CustomProperties in the bvc_Product table.
Looks like there is an issue with cloning products with CustomProperties.

I first found this in V5.4 Rev 5 and just now looked at the code in 5.6 which is the same.

\BVCommerce54\src\source\BVSoftware.Bvc5.Core\Catalog\InternalProduct.vb

Around line 1477 depending on version.

Code:

For Each cp As CustomProperty In Me.CustomProperties
newProduct.CustomProperties.Add(cp)
Next


Problem is here the newProduct already has the full collection of CustomProperties.
So you are adding a second copy and then saving them.
What happens eventually is you will end up with huge entries in the products table.
As you clone other products from the cloned product it just gets worse.
Eventually category pages will not load or product detail pages will not load or it takes forever.
Also, whenever a bot visits the website you can be sure you'll lock things up.

So, again this only applies if you use CustomProperties and do a lot of cloning.
If another developer could verify this also it would be appreciated.
Regards,
Kim(Kman) Rossey
www.toocoolwebs.com
BVSoftware - MerchantTribe Programming/Design, Database Programming and Business Applications
[email protected]
Marcus
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 10:15:02 AM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

This could be possible. Justin changed the clone code from instantiating a new object and copying properties to a serialize/deserialize copy at some point. It wouldn't surprise me if this code is left over.
Kman
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 10:43:16 AM(UTC)
Kman

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/25/2003(UTC)
Posts: 370

Yeah it is causing some issue on three websites I am working on.
A past developer added one custom property to the products table for a second product name.

Attached image, see the column CPropLength that shows just how bad it is :)
Jamming things up pretty good on all the websites that have been using cloning with CP

Working on a fix now to clean up the databases and adjusting the BVCore for cloning.
Kman attached the following image(s):
clone.png (10kb) downloaded 44 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Regards,
Kim(Kman) Rossey
www.toocoolwebs.com
BVSoftware - MerchantTribe Programming/Design, Database Programming and Business Applications
[email protected]
Matt@9BallDesign
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 1:02:19 PM(UTC)
Matt@9BallDesign

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/23/2003(UTC)
Posts: 909

uuuummmmmm.... got a heavy cloner here! A heavy type property guy as well.

What needs to be done?
Matt Martell


http://www.9balldesign.com - Web, Print, Graphic


http://www.martellhardware.com/ - Decorative & Builder's Hardware

------------------------------------------------
Kman
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 1:23:08 PM(UTC)
Kman

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/25/2003(UTC)
Posts: 370

Matt, I do not think product type properties are an issue. CustomProperties are different and not available unless a dev adds them and those are the ones causing current problems.
Regards,
Kim(Kman) Rossey
www.toocoolwebs.com
BVSoftware - MerchantTribe Programming/Design, Database Programming and Business Applications
[email protected]
Aaron
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 2:03:46 PM(UTC)
Aaron

Rank: Administration

Joined: 4/2/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,393
United States
Location: Hummelstown, PA

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 163 time(s) in 158 post(s)
Wow, I never knew what that field/property was used for. I had seen it before and always figured it was something that BV intended to use but never implemented. Very cool!
Aaron Sherrick
BV Commerce
Toll-free 888-665-8637 - Int'l +1 717-220-0012
Kman
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 2:12:33 PM(UTC)
Kman

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/25/2003(UTC)
Posts: 370

Yeah it is pretty cool. Nice to use where you want to add a bit of information to the products table without adding an additional column.

Where you see "95 Gr. Pressure Formed Fusion Bullet - 20 Count Box" is a custom property name 2. Used on detail pages and for SEO.
http://www.outdooroutfitters.co...-ammunition-F243FS1.aspx

The tabbed info is product type properties and at this time I do not think there is any issue there. Just the Custom.
Regards,
Kim(Kman) Rossey
www.toocoolwebs.com
BVSoftware - MerchantTribe Programming/Design, Database Programming and Business Applications
[email protected]
Matt@9BallDesign
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 10:42:01 PM(UTC)
Matt@9BallDesign

Rank: Member

Joined: 12/23/2003(UTC)
Posts: 909

Thanks for clarifying kman... I interpreted Custom Properties as any non-db guy would...lol..
Matt Martell


http://www.9balldesign.com - Web, Print, Graphic


http://www.martellhardware.com/ - Decorative & Builder's Hardware

------------------------------------------------
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012