• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

sternyy
#1 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 3:45:30 PM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I noticed when using the Bvc5ChoiceGrid template, your variants can show images. Is this only for variants that are image radio button list?


In the VariantsGridDisplay.ascx it shows:



Code:

<img id="Img1" runat="server" visible='<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "DisplayImages") %>' alt='<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "AssociatedProduct.ImageFileSmallAlternateText") %>'

Where is it pulling the value for the visible tag? All of my variants are radio button list and no image is dispplayed. I know I can replace the code above with visible="true" but i didnt know if there was a setting somewhere instead of modifing the code.


Thanks!

Bryan
Marcus
#2 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 8:23:26 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

I'm not sure if that feature was ever fully enabled. You should be able just to change the visible="true" to test it out. I suspect the reason it's not fully implemented has to do with spacing/sizing of the images.
sternyy
#3 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 10:27:20 PM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: "Marcus" Go to Quoted Post

I'm not sure if that feature was ever fully enabled. You should be able just to change the visible="true" to test it out. I suspect the reason it's not fully implemented has to do with spacing/sizing of the images.

Ya i know I can just put visible=true but i didnt know if there was code in the control that controls it like below




Code:

<uc3:VariantsGridDisplay ID="VariantsGridDisplay" runat="server" DisplayImages="true"/>

Just wanted to make sure I'm not going in and changing stuff too deep when it can be changed from the control itself... that's all :)


Thanks!
sternyy
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 12:50:46 PM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Another question:


I noticed the variants get sorted by name instead of the sort order I set in the admin. Is there a way to have the variants keep the same sort as set in the admin or is the code below the only way to sort (i tried by "DisplayPrice" to show to lowest price first but that didnt work either)





Code:

Dim CombinationDisplays As New Utilities.SortableCollection(Of Catalog.ProductCombinationDisplay)(Catalog.InternalProduct.GetProductCombinationDisplays(BaseProduct))
CombinationDisplays.Sort("ComboDisplayName", Utilities.SortDirection.Ascending)
VariantsGridDisplayRepeater.DataSource = CombinationDisplays
VariantsGridDisplayRepeater.DataBind()
Aaron
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 2:14:28 PM(UTC)
Aaron

Rank: Administration

Joined: 4/2/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,393
United States
Location: Hummelstown, PA

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 163 time(s) in 158 post(s)
Have you tried commenting out the sort line?
Aaron Sherrick
BV Commerce
Toll-free 888-665-8637 - Int'l +1 717-220-0012
sternyy
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 3:39:52 PM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: "Aaron" Go to Quoted Post

Have you tried commenting out the sort line?

Looks like it displays in a random order. I noticed the same with editing the product variants in the admin. I wish it would keep the sort order set when creating the choices.
Marcus
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 5:01:32 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

MerchantTribe (BV6) keeps everything in order. Sorry, BV5 doesn't have that feature.
sternyy
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 30, 2011 11:21:32 AM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
ya sorta (no pun intended) stinks to have to upgrade to a whole new platform to get a sort feature thats used everywhere else on the site for variants except on the edit variants page (where you edit the choices) and bvcchoicegrid template. oh well it was worth a try ;)
Marcus
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 30, 2011 2:00:23 PM(UTC)
Marcus

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,786

Bryan,

We actually looked into adding this to BV5 at one point. The problem is a technical one in the way that variants are implemented. It turned out to be a very significant amount of work to try and accomplish this. In the end, it spurred us to rewrite the whole variant system for BV6 so that we could enforce sorting easily and everywhere. I wish I had a quick fix for you.
sternyy
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 30, 2011 6:18:47 PM(UTC)
sternyy

Rank: Member

Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 714

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
ok. When I tried to sort by "DisplayPrice" i couldnt figure out why the lowest price wasnt at the top. Its not sorting by low and high, its sorting only by alphabetical so technically $1299 would come before $899.

If I could somehow sort by price that would help for products with a lot of variants.
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012