• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Outdoor Ed
#1 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2007 8:33:09 PM(UTC)
Outdoor Ed

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/4/2006(UTC)
Posts: 121

I need to remove credit card data after the transaction has been completed. My site sells advertising not physical products so i don't have refunds to deal with. Anyone want to take a crack at coding?

Rick
Andy Miller
#2 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2007 10:29:51 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hey Rick,

I sent you an email but perhaps it was swallowed up in some junk filter. Since others might find this useful, I'll post it here...

I put Justin's code in a complete workflow task (attached to this post). To use this on your site do this:

<OL>
* Copy RemoveCreditCardNumber.vb to the App_Code directory of your BVC5 web site.

<LI>open App_Code/TaskLoader.vb in an editor and find this line:

Dim result As New Collection(Of BusinessRules.OrderTask)
</LI>
<LI>Add this line right after the line above:

result.Add(New RemoveCreditCardNumber)
</LI>
* Save the file.

* Launch the BVC5 Admin Pages for your site in a browser.

* Click on the Options tab and then select Workflows from the menu right below the tabs.

* Edit the Payment Changed workflow.

* Select "Remove Credit Card Number" from the list on the left and click on the New button.

* Verify that the Remove Credit Card Number appears at the bottom and then click on the OK button.

* Edit the Process New Order workflow.

* Repeat steps 8 and 9.
</OL>
That's it. This will remove the credit card number after it has been captured for new orders and if you add a credit card charge later.

You will probably need to repeat steps 2 and 3 each time you apply a BVC5 Service Pack. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Andy Miller
Princeton '82

P.S. I'm often amazed at the small world I live in...I think we may have been on on OA trip together at one time.
File Attachment(s):
RemoveCreditCardNumber.vb (2kb) downloaded 109 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
Outdoor Ed
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 23, 2007 5:23:28 PM(UTC)
Outdoor Ed

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/4/2006(UTC)
Posts: 121

Thanks a lot Andy. Your name was familiar but common enough that I didn't think it might be someone I knew. I hadn't gotten your email, swallowed up somewhere I guess. The workflow is just what I'm looking for to incorporate at the site I run on the side, www.outdoored.com. I'm still working full time at Princeton having just finished my 25th year. OA is still going strong. Good to hear from you. If you are back this year for your 25th stop by the OA tent and say hi.

Rick
[email protected]
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 24, 2007 1:21:37 PM(UTC)
bobn@laurastamm.net

Rank: Member

Joined: 6/6/2005(UTC)
Posts: 483

I used your fix as well Andy. Works great. Thanks. It is something we have been looking for.

In BV4 you could set a CC retention time but I don't see this feature in BV5. It is a concern because I like to leave the automatic login feature in the on position. Removing the CC number during checkout adds further security to our site. I couldn't figure out how get the CC refund to work from our site to Linkpoint anyway so retention is not an issue. I just do it on our CC Processors site and do a manual neg payment on ours to get everything to balance.

Now my question is, How do I remove the existing CC numbers from my order history with out screwing up our data base?

(Novice admin here.)

Thanks.

Bob Noble
Andy Miller
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 24, 2007 1:39:44 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hand edit the order payments table? Or perhaps you could create a new workflow with this task in it and then run the workflow against existing orders, but I don't know how to do that last part.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
[email protected]
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 24, 2007 6:52:07 PM(UTC)
bobn@laurastamm.net

Rank: Member

Joined: 6/6/2005(UTC)
Posts: 483

The credit card info is all encrypted in the oder payments table. Even the one with all zeros or blank spaces. And that scared me. It looks like it could be a required field. Not sure what would happen if I messed with that.

I tried going back to the original order and change the CC number there but there isn't any update button.

Guess I'll wait and see what BV has to say about it or until I get some clarification on what the ramifications would be.

Bob Noble
Outdoor Ed
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 24, 2007 9:00:04 PM(UTC)
Outdoor Ed

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/4/2006(UTC)
Posts: 121

Andy, that's a question I had. After installing the Workflow and running it on a test order with BV in TestGateway mode. The creditcardnumber still shows as encrypted text after the change so how do I tell that it's actually been changed to 00000000000?

Rick
Andy Miller
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 24, 2007 10:41:07 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I'm not sure...if you select the order (in BVAdmin > Orders) and pretend you are going to refund the payment, does it show 0000?
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
[email protected]
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2007 12:22:48 AM(UTC)
bobn@laurastamm.net

Rank: Member

Joined: 6/6/2005(UTC)
Posts: 483

Thats the I could tell it was working. Check the Display all credit card information box, then go in and check it in the payment section. It replaces everything with all zeros. Thats how I could tell it didn't do anything with the history. It is also how I could tell the encryption for each one that had all zeros was different too.

Bob Noble
Outdoor Ed
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2007 10:10:22 AM(UTC)
Outdoor Ed

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/4/2006(UTC)
Posts: 121

That did it. Checking the 'Display Full Credit Card Information In Admin Console?' to yes in Admin/Options/Credit Card and then looking up the Order showed the decrypted string of zeros. The other thing that was interesting is when you are looking in the Order Payments section it has a text box for the CVV but that was empty. I was thinking of adding another line to your code to also set the CVV to 000

payment.CreditCardCVV = "000"

but when I look at the bvc_OrderPayment table there is no column to hold the CVV. The question then is why is there a textbox for CVV (also on the NewOrder.aspx page). Is it just passed to the payment processor and discarded or is it supposed to be recorded in the database? I would presume that if you have to issue another charge or a chargeback you would need it.

The other little thing I noticed is that there are 'What is this?' links on both of those pages next to the CVV textbox that point to a page bvadmin/orders/CVV.aspx but there is no such page.

Rick
Andy Miller
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2007 12:44:55 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: "Outdoor Ed" Go to Quoted Post

The question then is why is there a textbox for CVV (also on the NewOrder.aspx page). Is it just passed to the payment processor and discarded or is it supposed to be recorded in the database? I would presume that if you have to issue another charge or a chargeback you would need it.

Rick

The CVV is not stored. It is passed to the payment processor and then discarded. Payment processors will typically charge less for a transaction if the CVV is present. However, the CC companies require that you not store the CVV anywhere.



You probably can control whether the CVV is required when submit a transaction to your payment processor. For example I use Authorize.NET and I can choose whether to reject a transaction if the CVV is missing. If I turn that off, then I can submit transactions with or without the CVV. If I include the CVV the transaction costs me about $0.10 less.



The CVV field is on the merchant's payment page and in case you are on the phone with your customer and entering their information. In my case, I would probably not call the customer for the CVV since it is not worth the dime. But if the customer called me and I was placing the order for them, then I would ask for the CVV.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
[email protected]
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 6, 2007 1:09:59 PM(UTC)
bobn@laurastamm.net

Rank: Member

Joined: 6/6/2005(UTC)
Posts: 483

Hey! Guess what?

All my preexisting credit card numbers (before I used Andy's fix) now all appear to have been replaced with Zeros. At least they are when I look at them in the payments section of the order.

BV4 had an option erase CC numbers after 7 days. I wonder if Andy's fix triggered that 7 day feature.

In any event I now feel really comfortable with with leaving the auto log on feature in the on position. The only customer information that can be compromised now is names, addresses, phone numbers and clinics that have been purchased. Almost all of this information can be found by going to our clinic and checking the phone directory.

Thanks Andy.

Bob Noble
Andy Miller
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 6, 2007 1:57:31 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
You are welcome Bob. The core code came from Justin...I just wrapped it in a task.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
[email protected]
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 2, 2007 1:12:46 PM(UTC)
bobn@laurastamm.net

Rank: Member

Joined: 6/6/2005(UTC)
Posts: 483

This application quit working when I upgraded to SP2. Apparently BV fixed the whole App_Code directory.

Anybody got a fix for this application? I made a wild guess on what that change might be but it would be dumb luck if I was right.

Thanks for your help.

Bob Noble
Andy Miller
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 2, 2007 1:21:29 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
SP2 included a new TaskLoader.vb so step #3 was undone. You can either re-do steps 2-4, or edit TaskLoader.Custom.vb instead. The advantage of using TaskLoader.Custom.vb is that it will not be overwritten by future service packs.

1. Find this line in TaskLoader.Custom.vb,

Public Shared Sub LoadCustomOrderTasks(ByVal result As Collection(Of BusinessRules.OrderTask))

2. Add this line immediately below the line above,

result.Add(New RemoveCreditCardNumber)

You may have to edit the workflow again as well.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
[email protected]
#16 Posted : Sunday, May 6, 2007 6:40:28 PM(UTC)
bobn@laurastamm.net

Rank: Member

Joined: 6/6/2005(UTC)
Posts: 483

Thanks Andy. I chose Option 2. It works like a charm without any additional modifications.

Bob Noble
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012