Rank: Member
Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC) Posts: 681
|
Hi,
I have disabled Inventory on my website:
Send Low Stock Notice Every 24 Hours Email Report To: ..... Disable Inventory: [x] Reserve Inventory on: Order Saved
However I got about 10 low stock reports in the last 4 hours:
Low Stock Report From ...
[3]The following are low in stock or out of stock:[/3]
[3]No out of stock items found.[/3]
[3][/3]
[3]Can I disable this somehow or make sure I actually get it only once a day?[/3]
[3][/3]
[3]Thanks,[/3]
[3]Corneliu.[/3] |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC) Posts: 714
Thanks: 14 times Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 2/20/2005(UTC) Posts: 282
|
I also get a low stock email once per day even though I have disabled the inventory tracking.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC) Posts: 714
Thanks: 14 times Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
what about not setting an email... ill try tomorrow.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
You'll probably get an error in the log if there is no email address. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC) Posts: 714
Thanks: 14 times Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
yup... i tried setting the run report every "0" hours too but it keeps saying inventory run failed.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 11/18/2003(UTC) Posts: 1,465
|
Seems like it needs some work.
But...
I actually like to get an email every X number of hours even when not tracking inventory because it is an extra level of notification to me that the site/server is up and running ok. |
TIM
BVC Add-Ons and Development |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC) Posts: 681
|
CodeSine, I would also like a report every X no of hours. However this is what I get (check the attached image) I got about 15 in a matter of hours. Regards, Corneliu. CorneliuTusnea attached the following image(s): low-stock-report.png (33kb) downloaded 23 time(s).You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
I went through the code and it isn't checking for disabled inventory at all, that I could find. Edit line 99 in the global.asax file to the following. The rest of the statement is on line 100 and doesn't change. This probably isn't the final fix, but it should stop the emails and error logging. Code: [color=#0000ff] [color=#0000ff][2][/color][color=#0000ff] If[/color][color=#000000] BVSoftware.Bvc5.Core.WebAppSettings.DisableInventory = [/color][color=#0000ff]False[/color][color=#000000] [/color][color=#0000ff]And[/color][color=#000000>][/color][color=#0000ff] [/color][/2][/color][i][color=#0000ff] [/color][/i]
Note: A value of zero for the hours will cause the current code to send an email with every session start. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
I didn't go through the code to see why the emails go out more often than you entered. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
Could someone with the developer pack who is having this problem please go into ProductInventory.vb and on line 218 move the last line in the EmailLowStockReport method to be the first line in the method. I have a feeling that the report is in the middle of running and more reports get run and it just keeps queueing up before the last time run gets set. Please let me know if this fixes your issue. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
Justin,
Your fix doesn't handle the other session start events (regenerate dymanic categories and cart clean-up) when you have multiple new sessions starting. In BVC2004, there was a flag set in the global.asax file to prevent any of this from running once it started until completion. By then the last run info would have been updated so future sessions won't trigger these events until the specified time. You might need 3 flags, one for each process. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
Well yes, but the other two processes already set their last run time as soon as they start. The difference with the low stock report is that it was waiting until after the report was run before setting the last time run variable. Once this variable is set, it should not allow any other reports to fire off. Now the fact that we are using a thread pool to queue up the report could cause a delay before it is actually run, but I was just trying to find out for now if moving the last time run to before the report runs would fix the problem for people that are having it. If it is merely a timing issue and not something with the date times, then the fix that we actually implement will be more robust. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/3/2004(UTC) Posts: 1,497
|
My stores aren't live yet, so the fix you suggested would be at least as good as the other code sections. Unlike the inventory email, the other two codes sections don't present something visible to the merchant that would cause them to know that multiple instances are executing.
I would also suggest that a zero wouldn't be allowed as the value for the number of days unless it was used for disabling inventory reports without disabling inventory. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC) Posts: 681
|
Can you guys also add some formatting to the email regarding low stock report. This is what I get now: AH1, RISK: The Lord of the Rings, 0.0000000000 J1302EA, Black Hole Puzzle, 0.0000000000 PLE40300, Kinder Bunnies: Their First Adventure, 0.0000000000 EUR001, Grass Card Game, 0.0000000000 BLU7070, Tip Over Crate Game, 0.0000000000 GWI201, Mummy Rummy Card Game, 0.0000000000 HAS20034, Monopoly Australian Edition, 0.0000000000 Oh yes, one long line of data that I can hardly read. It would be nice to have the url's and the details about the vendor and manufacturer of each product so I don't have to login, search for each product, and see the manufacturer to be able to order my products.
Thank you, Corneliu. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
It actually is formatted one item per line. Outlook removes all "extra" line breaks. We can all thank microsoft for that one. As far as adding more info to the out of stock e-mail. We will look into that. It must be prioritized with all other changes. Thanks! |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC) Posts: 681
|
Justin, You are right about the extra line breaks. Thanks. However a fix for the emails would be nice. I want my inventory to be enabled but receive one email a day only. Last night I received 28 emails. Thanks, Corneliu. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 10/17/2006(UTC) Posts: 66
|
Also, it is VERY BAD if you leave that field for hours between reports blank. Needs some validation.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC) Posts: 681
|
Originally Posted by: "Justin Etheredge" It actually is formatted one item per line. Outlook removes all "extra" line breaks. We can all thank microsoft for that one. As far as adding more info to the out of stock e-mail. We will look into that. It must be prioritized with all other changes. Thanks!
Justin, If each line of the generated report starts with "- " (dash+space) Outlook will not remov the extra line breaks :) Can you do that please as part of SP1. Thank you, Corneliu. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
We are adding a setting that sets the line prefix for the report. We don't want to change it across the board since people may have written code to parse the report. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.