BV Commerce Forum
»
BV Commerce Support
»
Development
»
Adding Content Blocks to Category page
Rank: Member
Joined: 12/30/2006(UTC) Posts: 65
|
Hey Gang,
I need to add a Product Grid, or Product Rotator to the Category pages.
How can I go about that task?
Thanks -Dave
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/3/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,737
|
If you mean to add to the 1st column (left column) on the category page, go to: Content > Columns > System Category Page. |
Optimists invent airplanes, Pessimists buy parachutes. |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 12/30/2006(UTC) Posts: 65
|
Hi Mitch,
I was looking for the main content area on the right column. Same general area as the Category Banner would go, I need to figure out how to drop a Product Grid or Rotator block in there.
If there's not a mod possible to allow the admin to choose it, I wouldn't mind dropping the code into the category template manually (just wouldn't know how to specify the products or amount per column). Any method is fine.
unless there is another way of doing this. The client needs to feature a few specific products at the top of a category page. Similar idea to what Sub Category #2 does, but it's more than 1 (I'd like to actually drop 2 product blocks so One is large, and the other 2 are smaller, I can handle that with styles)
Dropping in product grids would seem to do trick perfectly.
Thanks -Dave
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/17/2006(UTC) Posts: 681
|
Dave, Modify the category template to add something like <uc4:ContentColumnControl ID="CategoryColumn" runat="server" ColumnName="My Category Column" /> Then go to Admin->Content->Columns and create the column "My Category Column" Then add whatever blocks to you want to that and they will appear whenever your category with this template is loaded. Having it like this allows you to add stuff like Product Rotator to it and modify the products from the admin at any time.
Regards, Corneliu. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 12/30/2006(UTC) Posts: 65
|
Cornellu... thanks so much for that help!
Extremely appreciated -Dave
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 12/30/2006(UTC) Posts: 65
|
Hi Again,
Just implemented the update and it worked perfectly, thanks again!
I wonder if I could ask a followup. I just realized that the category template will always pull in the same custom column (thereby the same product grid) for all the different categories. So I think I'll need to create a custom column for each category, and run a routine that pulls in the correct column for the correct category.
There might be a better way to do this programatically, but I don't want to overextend my requests for advice, so I figure this has the simplest answer (while not the most efficient)
Here's my theory I take the line of code Cornellu gave me and replace "My Category Column" with a variable: <uc4:ContentColumnControl ID="CategoryColumn" runat="server" ColumnName="My Category Column" /> to <uc4:ContentColumnControl ID="CategoryColumn" runat="server" ColumnName=strColumnVariable />
Then run something similar to an old school vbscript select case routine, that grabs the Category ID number and replaces the variable with the name of the matching custom column name I create in the admin
I just don't know the .net syntax to do that trick.
If someone doesn't mind helping with the snippet of code, or alternate suggestion, it would be a greatly appreciated. thanks everyone for the help and advice so far. the site is coming together nicely.
-D
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 12/19/2006(UTC) Posts: 153
|
|
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.