Rank: Member
Joined: 6/20/2006(UTC) Posts: 157
|
I tried to delete all the products from one vendor but i dont see how. i read the manual but it doesnt say either i went into products but that will only let me delete one by one. so i looked into product batch edit, i selected my vendor from my drop down menu, went to the bottom and hit preview, i got this error msg, can someone help me out?
Server Error in '/' Application. Runtime Error Description: An application error occurred on the server. The current custom error settings for this application prevent the details of the application error from being viewed remotely (for security reasons). It could, however, be viewed by browsers running on the local server machine.
Details: To enable the details of this specific error message to be viewable on remote machines, please create a <customErrors> tag within a "web.config" configuration file located in the root directory of the current web application. This <customErrors> tag should then have its "mode" attribute set to "Off".
<!-- Web.Config Configuration File -->
<configuration> <system.web> <customErrors mode="Off"/> </system.web> </configuration>
Notes: The current error page you are seeing can be replaced by a custom error page by modifying the "defaultRedirect" attribute of the application's <customErrors> configuration tag to point to a custom error page URL.
<!-- Web.Config Configuration File -->
<configuration> <system.web> <customErrors mode="RemoteOnly" defaultRedirect="mycustompage.htm"/> </system.web> </configuration> |
http://www.svtechmall.comBuy computers, computer parts, laptops, laptop accessories, MP3 players, digital cameras, video games, dvds and much more! |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
You have to change <customErrors mode="RemoteOnly" /> to <customErrors mode="Off" /> but only temporarily. This will allow you to see the actual error message that is being thrown. But before you do that, you should also check the event log, because you should be able to see it there as well. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 6/20/2006(UTC) Posts: 157
|
well how can i mass delete products? i searched around but didnt see it anywhere at all thanks |
http://www.svtechmall.comBuy computers, computer parts, laptops, laptop accessories, MP3 players, digital cameras, video games, dvds and much more! |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
MAKE A BACKUP BEFORE RUNNING ANY SCRIPTS AGAINST YOUR DATABASE!
There is no easy way to do this from the admin side. Here is a script that will generate a list of stored procedure calls to delete the products with a given vendor name
SELECT 'EXEC bvc_Product_d ''' + prod.bvin + ''' -- Name: ' + prod.ProductName + ' sku: ' + prod.sku FROM bvc_Product AS prod JOIN bvc_Vendor AS vend ON prod.VendorId = vend.Bvin WHERE vend.DisplayName = 'Test'
Just replace 'Test' with the name of your vendor. This script will not actually delete the products but instead will generate a list of commands for you to run to delete all the products that you need to. I would recommend running the deletes in batches of no larger than about 50 if you have a large number of products that you are deleting. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 5/24/2004(UTC) Posts: 4,147
|
SVTech, I'll just answer your emailed question here, since it might help others. Justin's script would be run against the database as a new query. If you don't have SQL Server Management Studio, you can download the free express version from here: http://www.microsoft.com/downlo...1-4E3D-94B8-5A0F62BF7796In the program, I believe you select your database from the object explorer, click the New Query button and paste the above script into the new query window. Then click the Execute button to run the script. (correct me if I've missed something) |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 6/20/2006(UTC) Posts: 157
|
this will allow me to edit the db? |
http://www.svtechmall.comBuy computers, computer parts, laptops, laptop accessories, MP3 players, digital cameras, video games, dvds and much more! |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
Yes, the SQL server management studio express edition will allow you to edit your database. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 6/20/2006(UTC) Posts: 157
|
Justin Can you give me the script for deleting just the products (not vendor, mfg or users)? All of it, we have to re-upload all the products due to vendor changes. thanks |
http://www.svtechmall.comBuy computers, computer parts, laptops, laptop accessories, MP3 players, digital cameras, video games, dvds and much more! |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/25/2004(UTC) Posts: 69
|
Can you edit fields like Price and Inventory on an existing database using SQL server management studio express edition remotely? I am hosting with Noah at Resposio. I am having trouble updating items using the new Import/Update tool and will need to be able to update the 4000+ items I have in the BV5 store we are building.
Thanks,
Craig
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 11/6/2003(UTC) Posts: 1,903
|
Craig, you can connect remotely on a special port and IP directly to your BVC Database. Send an email with the current IP or name of the site and we will let you know what SQL server you are on and how to connect to it.
Aside from that always use caution when connecting directly to the DB, you can do a lot of damage in a very short amount of time. |
Noah |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 6/20/2006(UTC) Posts: 157
|
Originally Posted by: "Justin Etheredge" Yes, the SQL server management studio express edition will allow you to edit your database. Justin Can you give me the script for deleting ALL of the products only? thanks |
http://www.svtechmall.comBuy computers, computer parts, laptops, laptop accessories, MP3 players, digital cameras, video games, dvds and much more! |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
You can use the same query, just remove the "WHERE" clause. Like this...
SELECT 'EXEC bvc_Product_d ''' + prod.bvin + ''' -- Name: ' + prod.ProductName + ' sku: ' + prod.sku FROM bvc_Product AS prod JOIN bvc_Vendor AS vend ON prod.VendorId = vend.Bvin |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC) Posts: 1,142
|
Actually, i take that back, we have a stored proc that will do this for you.
EXEC bvc_Product_All_d
That sql is all you should have to run and it will delete all of your products, so be careful. |
Justin Etheredge Senior Software Engineer BVSoftware |
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.