Rank: Member
Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC) Posts: 714
Thanks: 14 times Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
I posted this in another thread, but also wanted to post in a new one:
Hey Andy,
We are in the same boat, but need a bit different of a solution. We need to show a drop ship fee seperate from the ups or fedex rates. This would be the same as a handling fee, except the handling fee is global. We need this handling fee/drop ship fee to be by product.
Can anyone help with this. We need something ASAP!
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 12/23/2003(UTC) Posts: 909
|
if it's not a ton of products you could manually update the extra ship fee for each item. |
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC) Posts: 310
|
One thing to remember - extra ship fee works for the base products but not the product variations (multiple skus of the same product). The extra ship fee is associated with the global product (the parent product). If you have multiple SKUs of the same product and if one SKU is bigger than the other and if you want to charge a different extra ship fee, thats not possible without some work. But you can definitely make it possible with a little bit of customization.
Thanks, Satya |
Thanks, Satya support @ bayquel.net Work: +1 803 883 3226 |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC) Posts: 714
Thanks: 14 times Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
it adds it to the shipping rate that is returned. I want it to be separate like how handling is separate.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC) Posts: 310
|
If you dont want this extra amount to appear as a shipping fee, are you comfortable with this extra amount appearing as a handling fee? In that case, your handing fee for the complete order will increase. This is your best bet with very little coding. Let me know if thats ok with you.
Thanks, Satya support @ bayquel.com |
Thanks, Satya support @ bayquel.net Work: +1 803 883 3226 |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC) Posts: 714
Thanks: 14 times Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
it has to be by product though. Each product could have a different drop ship fee / handling fee. I guess if the "extra shipping fee" would not add to the ship fee, and be listed separate like the handling fee, that would be the easiest.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC) Posts: 310
|
Excellent. You can try what I am writing below since you are ok that the additional fee will be applicable as overall handling fee for the order.
1. Create a new textbox field on the edit product page in BVAdmin where you can specify the additional amount for each product. 2. Store the value you enter in this textbox as a custom property on the product. The CustomProperties collection is only available for InternalProduct class which you can get by doing a currentProduct.GlobalProduct and then access the CustomProperties collection. Just add a new custom property with whatever developerID you want. You will get the hang of it when you call the Add method on the CustomProperties collection. 3. Now that you have already stored the additional handling amount for the product in a custom property for that specific product, you just need to take into account that amount when calculating the handling fee for the order. You do that by editing one the workflow step called "ApplyHandling". You can find this step under BVSoftware.BVC5.Core\BusinessRules\OrderTasks folder. All you need to do in that workflow step is this: a. Get the current order by doing context.Order. b. Loop through the lineitems in the current order and determine the ProductBVIN for each Line Item. c. Retrieve the Product object corresponding to the productBVIN that you above in step b. d. Retrieve the CustomProperty that you set for this product. e. If that amount is valid and is not null, add it to the handling fee of the order.
You are done. As simple as that. Once done, you need to compile the core dll (in release mode :-)) and then replace your existing stock core dll in the bin folder with the newly built dll. Remember to take a backup of all files that you will modify or replace in this operation just to be on the safer side.
If you feel, this is too much for you to handle, send me an email and I can do it for you. My email address is in my signature below. |
Thanks, Satya support @ bayquel.net Work: +1 803 883 3226 |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC) Posts: 310
|
Oh by the way, by doing it this way, you will only be able to set the handling amount for a product at the global level. But if you have variations of the same product (I mean SKU's), then you cannot do it this way because CustomProperties are stored for global products and not for variations. Hope that makes sense. |
Thanks, Satya support @ bayquel.net Work: +1 803 883 3226 |
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 1/10/2005(UTC) Posts: 714
Thanks: 14 times Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC) Posts: 310
|
You are welcome. Let us know how it went. |
Thanks, Satya support @ bayquel.net Work: +1 803 883 3226 |
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.