• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Richard
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2008 8:08:05 AM(UTC)
Richard

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/28/2003(UTC)
Posts: 141

We are getting this error when trying to create a new order in the Admin > Orders > New Order. Create a new order, fill out all of the information, click the shipping rates button and you get this error, but only in the Admin section, cart and checkout work ok.




<H1>Server Error in '/' Application.
<HR width="100%" color=silver SIZE=1>
</H1>
<H2>Input string was not in a correct format. </H2>
[color=#ffffcc>

[tr ][td ]<CODE>An]</b>location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.[/code] [/td][/tr]</TABLE>


<B>[1]

Version Information:[/1] Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.1433; ASP.NET Version:2.0.50727.1433





This is showing in the Event log.




[table id=ctl00_MainContent_gvEvents style="WIDTH: 100%; BORDER-COLLAPSE: collapse" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 border=0]
[tr ][td ] [/td][td vAlign=top align=middle]&lt;input id=ctl00_MainContent_gvEvents_ctl03_btnDelete title=Delete style="BORDER-TOP-WIDTH: 0px; BORDER-LEFT-WIDTH: 0px; BORDER-BOTTOM-WIDTH: 0px; BORDER-RIGHT-WIDTH: 0px" onclick="return window.confirm('Are you sure you want to clear this event?');" type=image src="http://www.somethingmorestore.com/bvadmin/images/buttons/Delete.png" name=ctl00$MainContent$gvEvents$ctl03$btnDelete> [/td][td vAlign=top align=left]9/10/2008 9:09:31 AM[/td][td vAlign=top align=left]mscorlib[/td][td vAlign=top align=left]Input string was not in a correct format.[ at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer&amp; number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal) at System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info) at System.Web.UI.WebControls.ImageButton.LoadPostData(String postDataKey, NameValueCollection postCollection) at System.Web.UI.WebControls.ImageButton.System.Web.UI.IPostBackDataHandler.LoadPostData(String postDataKey, NameValueCollection postCollection) at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessPostData(NameValueCollection postData, Boolean fBeforeLoad) at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) ][/td][/tr][/table]


[table id=ctl00_MainContent_gvEvents style="WIDTH: 100%; BORDER-COLLAPSE: collapse" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 border=0][tr class=alternaterow][td ]
[/td][td vAlign=top align=middle]&lt;input id=ctl00_MainContent_gvEvents_ctl04_btnDelete title=Delete style="BORDER-TOP-WIDTH: 0px; BORDER-LEFT-WIDTH: 0px; BORDER-BOTTOM-WIDTH: 0px; BORDER-RIGHT-WIDTH: 0px" onclick="return window.confirm('Are you sure you want to clear this event?');" type=image src="http://www.somethingmorestore.com/bvadmin/images/buttons/Delete.png" name=ctl00$MainContent$gvEvents$ctl04$btnDelete> [/td][td vAlign=top align=left]9/10/2008 9:09:31 AM[/td][td vAlign=top align=left]Error[/td][td vAlign=top align=left]&lt;br&gt;Session:51f62746-b4bc-4a73-8cb3-f82b64b2a61d&lt;br&gt;To:https://www.somethingmorestore.com/bvadmin/orders/neworder.aspx &lt;br&gt;From:https://www.somethingmorestore.com/bvadmin/orders/neworder.aspx&lt;br&gt;User:216.171.252.54(216.171.252.54)&lt;br&gt;Agent:Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; .NET CLR 3.5.21022)



Anyone have any ideas what the problem maybe

Thanks in Advance

Richard
www.somethingmorestore.com






[/td][/tr][/table]
bvcoder
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2008 10:50:11 PM(UTC)
bvcoder

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 310

Short of debugging it, its kind of difficult whats causing this error. The best I can suggest are the following steps:

1. Setup the complete source code base on a local machine (not the production server).
2. Copy the database to your local server or you can change your web.config file on the local server to point to the live database.
3. Open the BVAdmin/Catalog/Default.aspx.vb file. Place a breakpoint in the page load sub.
4. Open the solution in Visual Studio and hit F5 to debug the website.
5. In the browser, navigate to the Order Manager page. Go line by line debugging the page and you will see what the error is.
Thanks,
Satya
support @ bayquel.net
Work: +1 803 883 3226
Richard
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 11, 2008 8:24:18 AM(UTC)
Richard

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/28/2003(UTC)
Posts: 141

Ok I have a little more information on this. After working with the Brendon at Resposio I have figured this much out. We had an automatic update the other day from Microsoft, I am assuming it had something to do with IE 7.
When using IE7 version 7.0.5730.11 we get the error, but if I open Firefox , version 3.0.1, everthing works like a champ. Anyone have any ideas what has changed with IE7?

Richard
www.somethingmorestore.com
bvcoder
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 11, 2008 11:12:35 AM(UTC)
bvcoder

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 310

A browser throwing an exception! Wow! Can you repro this error from multiple machines using the same IE version? Did you try with a different IE version (IE 6 may be). Still, debugging is the best option you have. Looks like a culture problem.
Thanks,
Satya
support @ bayquel.net
Work: +1 803 883 3226
Richard
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 11, 2008 12:28:22 PM(UTC)
Richard

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/28/2003(UTC)
Posts: 141

It works with IE6 ok and FireFox 3.0.1. Checked on 4 Different Desktops and 1 Laptop all Dell and running xp 2 with service pack 3 with all the lastest updates.

Richard
www.somethingmorestore.com
bvcoder
#6 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2008 7:44:17 PM(UTC)
bvcoder

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 310

Richard,

Have you been able to figure out whats causing the exception? Please advise.
Thanks,
Satya
support @ bayquel.net
Work: +1 803 883 3226
Richard
#7 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2008 10:27:29 PM(UTC)
Richard

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/28/2003(UTC)
Posts: 141

Satya, never figured it out. We are using FireFox to process all phone orders that come. It has something to do with the last couple of Mircrosoft updates that came through. I have been reading on Microsoft but haven't come up with anything yet. Seems funny that a browser would throw and error but who knows. Whats funny is the last IE update was on 8/13/08 and this didn't start happening till the first week in September. We have had securtiy updates come in around that time too, but still trying to figure it out.

Anyone else having any problems processing new order in admin with IE 7 running sp3 with all updates?

Richard
bvcoder
#8 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2008 11:14:13 PM(UTC)
bvcoder

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 310

It would be really interesting to find out what the problem is. Did you say it fails on all machines with IE 7? Did you try that?
Thanks,
Satya
support @ bayquel.net
Work: +1 803 883 3226
Richard
#9 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2008 7:27:12 AM(UTC)
Richard

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/28/2003(UTC)
Posts: 141

Yeah Satya, 5th post down. Failed on 4 dell desktops and 1 lap all running windows xp service pack 3 with all updates and using IE7 version 7.0.5730.11.

Richard
www.somethingmorestore.com
bvcoder
#10 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2008 8:17:24 AM(UTC)
bvcoder

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 310

Hello Richard,

Can you try updating your IE? The latest version of IE is 7.0.5730.13. You are reporting 7.0.5730.11. See if upgrading to the latest version makes any difference.
Thanks,
Satya
support @ bayquel.net
Work: +1 803 883 3226
bvcoder
#11 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2008 8:29:46 AM(UTC)
bvcoder

Rank: Member

Joined: 8/1/2007(UTC)
Posts: 310

Hey Richard,

I found this interesting article on a similar error. May be you are also running into the same issue.

Did you add any browser checking into the page in question? I am 99% certain that its primarily because of some custom coding that you might have added to stock BV5. Because if it were in the stock code base, it should have failed for all of us. Also, this is not a server side error because if it is, then it should fail in all the browsers.

Definitely it should be some client side code which is failing for IE v 7 alone. I guess we have narrowed it down. Check the page for any recent modifications/addition you did. Compare the page which is failing with the stock file and see what the changes are. Else, post your modified file here and we should be able to figure out the difference.
Thanks,
Satya
support @ bayquel.net
Work: +1 803 883 3226
Richard
#12 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2008 9:35:24 AM(UTC)
Richard

Rank: Member

Joined: 4/28/2003(UTC)
Posts: 141

Satya, I have made no modifications to any Admin Pages, infact thinking that something might have gotten skewed I backed up the pages
on the production server and uploaded new pages (both neworder.aspx and neworder.aspx.vb) from the BV sources files which are located
in C:\Program files\BVSoftware. Still the same results with the new pages in place.

Richard
www.somethingmorestore.com
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012