• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

JABevan
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 26, 2006 10:00:11 AM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

I've tried uploading several files to the /store/Files folder. File Vault does not recognize any files but the files previously uploaded through the interface.
Nick Alberti
#2 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2006 2:31:24 PM(UTC)
Nick Alberti

Rank: Member

Joined: 9/27/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,099

This is intentional. Files must be uploaded via the admin interface. I do agree that there needs to be a way to bulk upload items to the "files" folder. We're looking into this feature though we don't have a time line on when such a feature will be available.
JABevan
#3 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2006 3:01:58 PM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

Are you sure about that??? Your documentation says something different, "Optionally, if the file is too large that it may timeout the upload process, the file can be FTP'd into the "Files" folder."

http://www.bvsoftware.co...ct/File%20Downloads.aspx

If we can't upload 4mb+ files through the admin interface, how do we upload them??? And once they're uploaded, how do we find them??? If you select the "Use a file that has already been uploaded" option, it only displays a handful of uploads.

These issues are devastating for us...
Nick Alberti
#4 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2006 3:17:47 PM(UTC)
Nick Alberti

Rank: Member

Joined: 9/27/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,099

Hello Josh.

I'll update the documentation. Uploading the file to the server via FTP may make the upload via the admin faster. Obviously this isn't the ideal solution.

To upload files larger than 4 mb, you’d need to add the line below to the “web.config” under the <System.Web> element.

<httpRuntime maxRequestLength="4096"/>

Modify the 4096 to whatever size you find works.

I should also mention that this setting could be overridden by your hosting company if in a shared hosting environment.
JABevan
#5 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2006 3:33:11 PM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

Thanks Nick, I'll give it a shot now...
JABevan
#6 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 2:16:44 PM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

Nick, I tried this line of code to over ride the time out issue. We tried one upload, it worked, so we thought the issue was resolved. We're now trying to go back and upload the files we missed (all just over 4mb). We've tried a dozen files today, all are receiving a time out in the event logs.

The line of code I entered set the maxRequestLength="40960"

I guess it didn't help. What can we do???
Andy Miller
#7 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 2:59:31 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
maxRequestLength sets the maximum number of bytes that can be in a request. For example 40960 will allow 40 MB files. maxRequestLength does not affect how long the request is allowed to run. It sounds like the file upload request is taking too long to run. To change the amount of time the request is allowed to run, you will need to add executionTimeout to the &lt;httpRuntime&gt; element. For example, &lt;httpRuntime maxRequestLength="40960" executionTimeout="00:04:00" /&gt;. This will allow the request to run for 4 minutes. The default is "00:01:50" (110 seconds).

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/e1f13641.aspx
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
Nick Alberti
#8 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 3:01:18 PM(UTC)
Nick Alberti

Rank: Member

Joined: 9/27/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,099

Thanks Andy. I guess I did leave off the executionTimeout. You rock!
JABevan
#9 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 3:32:56 PM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

As soon as I add the executionTimeout command the shopping cart breaks and I get run time errors (both on the public side and the admin cp). If I remove it the site comes back up...
jetheredge
#10 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 3:41:09 PM(UTC)
jetheredge

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,142

We are also adding a feature in SP1 that will allow you to import files that are in the "Files" folder directly into the file vault.
Justin Etheredge
Senior Software Engineer
BVSoftware
jetheredge
#11 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 3:42:20 PM(UTC)
jetheredge

Rank: Member

Joined: 3/1/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,142

It is possible that your web host has locked this setting so that you cannot change it.
Justin Etheredge
Senior Software Engineer
BVSoftware
JABevan
#12 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 3:43:45 PM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

Beautiful! Thank you!

Is there anyway we can get an extension on our 30-day free trial? We haven't gotten a working site up yet and it looks like there are several bugs to work out before we can even consider going live with a beta site for testing.
JABevan
#13 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 3:44:33 PM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

No, I'd already logged into Intermedia.NET and set the timeout for both the Web and FTP servers to 20 minutes...
Nick Alberti
#14 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 3:45:26 PM(UTC)
Nick Alberti

Rank: Member

Joined: 9/27/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,099

Josh, contact sales(at)bvsoftware.com .
Andy Miller
#15 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 4:45:14 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: "JABevan" Go to Quoted Post

As soon as I add the executionTimeout command the shopping cart breaks and I get run time errors (both on the public side and the admin cp). If I remove it the site comes back up...
The documentation that I quoted was wrong. The value must be an integer number of seconds. For example,




Code:

[color=#0000ff]
&lt;[/color][color=#800000]httpRuntime[/color][color=#0000ff] [/color][color=#ff0000]executionTimeout[/color][color=#0000ff]=[/color][color=#000000]"[/color][color=#0000ff]240[/color][color=#000000]"[/color][color=#0000ff] [/color][color=#ff0000]maxRequestLength[/color][color=#0000ff]=[/color][color=#000000]"[/color][color=#0000ff]40960[/color][color=#000000]"[/color][color=#0000ff] /&gt;
[/color]
P.S. It would be much easier to help if you included the exact values that you tried and the complete error messages that you see.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
JABevan
#16 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 4:51:45 PM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

Hi Andy, thanks for your help. I'm copying your exact setting before I experiment with anything else. Unfortunately the event logs are only showing "Request timed out.[ ]". I'm trying with the new settings now and will post back.

Again, I really appreciate your help (p.s. DHL is our preferred shipper, I've looked at your modules and look forward to adding them to our storefront when we get the site up and running).
Andy Miller
#17 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 5:08:27 PM(UTC)
Andy Miller

Rank: Member

Joined: 11/5/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,136

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Oh...I did not realize the error message was so terse.

Thank you for the kind words.
Andy Miller
Structured Solutions

Shipper 3 - High Velocity Shipment Processing
JABevan
#18 Posted : Monday, November 6, 2006 5:11:19 PM(UTC)
JABevan

Rank: Member

Joined: 10/12/2006(UTC)
Posts: 57

That did the trick! Thank you!!!
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2024 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012